Jaffer Brothers Gets PTML a Tier 3 Data Centre

Jaffer Brothers (JBL) has successfully completed the data centre project at Ufone, PTML Islamabad. As per data center standards this data center falls under the Tier 3 standard.

The highlight of this project was the completion of project before the deadline and project ended as model project for PTML as well as for JBL.

“Jaffer Brothers has carried out successful completion of quality standard Data Centres at Islamabad (Primary) with most effective techniques to design Site Space and Layout, providing Precision Cooling Infrastructure, Advanced Cabling Infrastructure, Tiered Reliability, meeting Green IT requirements and sensitive Site Monitoring and Access.”
Says Mr. Naveed Ahmed, Project Manager-PTML

With the state of the art data centre ready, PTML can now enjoy numerous benefits such as:

  • Minimized disruptions.
  • Operational efficiencies.
  • Cost savings by combining resources that have previously existed in silos.
  • Higher utilization of fewer data servers.
  • Reduce staff overhead through simplification and automation of administrative tasks.
  • Lower operational expenses.

This task was made possible with the team work of Jaffer Brothers and its partner Patimas International. The Ufone PTML management and team showed tremendous support to JBL throughout the project. This is the second data centre project that PTML has entrusted JBL with.

Tier III Data Centre is composed of multiple active power and cooling distribution paths with one path active, has redundant components, and is concurrently maintainable, providing 99.982% availability.

Tech reporter with over 10 years of experience, founder of ProPakistani.PK

  • Review the last paragraph…. “Tier III Data Centre is composed of multiple active power and cooling distribution paths with one path active, has redundant components, and is concurrently maintainable, providing 99.982% availability.”

  • The post/news items does not state the standard being followed. The most widely being adapted globally is TIA-942. Here is the description of the various tiers as per this standard. Hope it will help.

    Tier I Data Center: Basic
    A Tier I data center is susceptible to disruptions from both planned and unplanned activity. It has computer power distribution and cooling, but it may or may not have a raised floor, a UPS, or an engine generator. If it does have UPS or generators, they are single-module systems and have many single points of failure. The infrastructure should be completely shut down on an annual basis to perform preventive maintenance and repair work. Urgent situations may require more frequent shutdowns. Operation errors or spontaneous failures of site infrastructure components will cause a data center disruption.

    Tier II Data Center: Redundant Components
    Tier II facilities with redundant components are slightly less susceptible to disruptions from both
    planned and unplanned activity than a basic data center. They have a raised floor, UPS, and
    engine generators, but their capacity design is “Need plus One” (N+1), which has a singlethreaded
    distribution path throughout. Maintenance of the critical power path and other parts of
    the site infrastructure will require a processing shutdown.

    Tier III Data Center: Concurrently Maintainable
    Tier III level capability allows for any planned site infrastructure activity without disrupting the computer hardware operation in any way. Planned activities include preventive and
    programmable maintenance, repair and replacement of components, addition or removal of capacity components, testing of components and systems, and more. For large sites using chilled
    water, this means two independent sets of pipes. Sufficient capacity and distribution must be
    available to simultaneously carry the load on one path while performing maintenance or testing
    on the other path. Unplanned activities such as errors in operation or spontaneous failures of
    facility infrastructure components will still cause a data center disruption. Tier III sites are often designed to be upgraded to Tier IV when the client’s business case justifies the cost of additional protection.

    Tier IV Data Center: Fault Tolerant
    Tier IV provides site infrastructure capacity and capability to permit any planned activity without
    disruption to the critical load. Fault-tolerant functionality also provides the ability of the site infrastructure to sustain at least one worst-case unplanned failure or event with no critical load impact. This requires simultaneously active distribution paths, typically in a System+System configuration. Electrically, this means two separate UPS systems in which each system has N+1 redundancy. Because of fire and electrical safety codes, there will still be downtime exposure due to fire alarms or people initiating an Emergency Power Off (EPO). Tier IV requires all computer hardware to have dual power inputs as defined by the Institute’s Fault-Tolerant Power Compliance Specification.

  • Ltd feature videos

    Watch more at LTD