New Facebook Feature Prevents Misuse of Profile Pictures

Facebook is rolling out new tools in India which will prevent the misuse of your Profile Picture. The new feature was added in response to feedback from users in India, citing the numerous safety and privacy challenges that Indian users face with their social media accounts.

With Facebook’s new Profile Picture Guard feature, you will now be able to prevent your profile picture from being downloaded by anyone.

Facebook Product Manager, Aarati Soman revealed this feature on Wednesday. The Photo Guard or Profile Picture Guard will be accompanied with a new design feature which compliments the former. Facebook’s research shows that adding unique designs to your profile picture also helps stop its misuse:

Based on preliminary tests, we’ve learned that when someone adds an extra design layer to their profile picture, other people are at least 75% less likely to copy that picture.

What Does it Do?

Indian users will be able to see a step-by-step guide to secure their profile picture in their News Feed soon. After setting up the Profile Picture Guard:

  • Other people will no longer be able to download, share or send your profile picture in a message on Facebook.
  • People you’re not friends with on Facebook won’t be able to tag anyone, including themselves, in your profile picture.
  • Prevent others from taking a screenshot of your profile picture on Facebook, which is currently available only on Android devices.
  •  A blue border and shield will be displayed around your profile picture as a visual cue of protection.

How to Turn it On

To turn on the Profile Picture Guard for your DP, all you need to do is head over to your profile settings on your Facebook App. Tap on your picture and tap “Turn on Profile Picture Guard”. It doesn’t get more simpler and secure than this.

Facebook has said that the feature is expected to be available in other countries soon.

A techie, Overwatch and Street Fighter enthusiast, and Sub Editor at ProPakistani.


  • Bitter_truth

    @AbdulWahab bro i think you get late for commenting on this post :p

    • Abdul wahab

      Amir atta bhai pays me for commenting useless stuff:D

  • Don’t Forget l
    Hum Screen Shot Le Sakte Hai Any Facebook Pics Ki !

    • Ali Usman

      I think it would disallow screenshots too as mentioned in the article but its only for android devices for now. I don’t think facebook is so lame that they won’t realize people taking screenshots :)

      • ScreenShot to Mobile Features hai Apps Kaise Block Kar Sakti hai Is Features Ko

        • BADAR

          Block kr sakti hai. security feature hai andriod mein. aik tariqa hai dusre mobile se pic lylo

          • U Mean LUMIA I Got It UR Point

            • BADAR

              No i mean android.

    • Ahsan Shah

      Abdul Wahab bhai sirf comment hi krty hen, kbhi post b parh lia kren!

      • ScreenShot to Mobile Features hai Apps Kaise Block Kar Sakti hai Is Features Ko.

        • Ahsan Shah

          Screenshots block ho jaty hen agr app na chahti ho k us me screenshot lia jaye.

        • Arsalan Shah

          Screenshots can be blocked. Snapchat and Signal has been blocking screenshots for nearly 3 years. It started with Android Lollipop, and several apps have that built-in.

          …….But, only on Android. Apple iPhones can still abuse and take screenshots!

  • ProPk

    Chuitiya Articles

  • Hasan Abbas

    Project manger is the best thing in this article :D

    • !!!!!

      bachi tyt ay!!!!

  • Farrukh Malik

    Dosry mobile sy picture bana lo, Very easy.
    Option dain k friends of friends ya unknow ko show he na ho picture.

  • Koi bhe I’d send kro me full pic us ki kr deta hn download. In same quality in which the person has uploaded. And following legal procedure.

    There is no privacy. Even only me profile pic can be downloaded with high resolution

  • Originative

    On web, anything that you can see is yours….

  • TechTnT

    There are 100 of other ways to save it.

    People hacked even netflix. It just a profile pic.

    Its a safety for beginners. There is always a way for Advance & Pro Users