PCB Awards New Central Contracts to Women Cricketers

Pakistan cricket’s regulatory body, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), has announced the list of 17 centrally contracted women cricketers for the first half of 2019, expiring on 30 June 2019.

The number of contracted players has been reduced from 20 to 17, with Fareeha Mehmood, Ghulam Fatima, Maham Tariq, and Rameen Shamin losing their contracts. Right-handed Omaima Sohail has been included in the list.

The incentive and performance-based contract list was released via a press release on Monday 21 January 2018, stating that all previous dues from July-December 2018 have been settled.

Director Domestic Cricket Operations Haroon Rashid said:

The new contracts are more competitive and further incentivise the top performing players. This is part of the PCB’s strategy to encourage and promote women’s cricket. The PCB will continue to invest in women’s cricket as we aspire to be one of the top and consistent performing sides.

The players are distributed among four categories A, B, C, and D. Here is the list:

Category Player
A Bismah Maroof
Javeria Wadood
Nahida Khan
Sana Mir
B Nashra Sundhu
Sidra Nawaz
Nida Rashid
C Aliya Riaz
Anam Amin
Diana Baig
Omaima Sohail
Sidra Amin
D Aimen Anwar
Ayesha Zafar
Kainat Imtiaz
Muneeba Ali Siddiqui
Natalia Pervaiz

Pakistan women’s captain Bismah Maroof remarked:

It is always a matter of pride to be handed a central contract. Our aim being to build a fine team and bench-strength, these contracts certainly contribute to that purpose.

Pakistan women’s team is currently ranked 7th in T20I and ODI cricket.

Feature Writer