Cricket is a sport followed by millions of people across the globe. Despite well-defined rules and regulations, bizarre incidents keep popping up in the cricket field.
The fans are yet to recover from the shocking six [runs] awarded to England at the most crunch time of the World Cup final. There has been plenty of criticism and opinions from former as well as active players and fans regarding the decision that ultimately won England the badge of World Champions.
While it’s still fresh, we have witnessed yet another freakish decision. This time though, it didn’t have that much impact.
How many times have you seen the ball hitting the stumps without dislodging the bails? Many times, would be your answer.
How many times have you seen the ball hitting the stumps and dislodging the bails without being given out? Never.
In a video shared by ESPNCricinfo, the bowler disturbs the woodwork, the bail dislodges slightly and sits at the middle of the off stump. Watch how:
One of the most bizzare things you'll ever see in a cricket match 😲
Is that out or not out? pic.twitter.com/y1dq568SQa
— ESPNcricinfo (@ESPNcricinfo) July 24, 2019
The fielding team jumps in celebration, but the umpire doesn’t move. He rules it not out considering the bail doesn’t fall from the stumps. Now that is next level weird.
According to the ICC rules, the bails have to be completely removed to rule a batsman out bowled.
29.1 Wicket put down
29.1.1 The wicket is put down if a bail is completely removed from the top of the stumps, or a stump is struck out of the ground,
126.96.36.199 by the ball,
188.8.131.52 by the striker’s bat if held or by any part of the bat that he/she is holding,
184.108.40.206 for the purpose of this law only, by the striker’s bat not in hand, or by any part of the bat which has become detached,
220.127.116.11 by the striker’s person or by any part of his/her clothing or equipment becoming detached from his/her person,
18.104.22.168 by a fielder with his/her hand or arm, providing that the ball is held in the hand or hands so used, or in the hand of the arm so used.
22.214.171.124 The wicket is also put down if a fielder strikes or pulls a stump out of the ground as in 126.96.36.199.
29.1.2 The disturbance of a bail, whether temporary or not, shall not constitute its complete removal from the top of the stumps, but if a bail in falling lodges between two of the stumps this shall be regarded as complete removal.
Here’s a video demonstration:
While the decision would have been not out keeping the rules in mind, it was truly a bizarre incident.
Have you ever seen a more odd dismissal (or not)? Let us know in the comments section.
Via ESPNCricinfo and Lord’s