Sri Lanka Announces World Cup 2019 Squad

More news regarding World Cup 2019 squads is pouring in and now Sri Lanka cricket has also named a 15-man squad for the mega event.

As announced earlier, Dimuth Karunaratne will lead the Islanders at the biggest cricketing carnival. He will be making a comeback to national ODI squad after 4 years. Media reports suggest that former captain Angelo Metthews had a fallout with the coaching staff and has refused to captain the team while working with the current management leaving Sri Lanka with no other choice but to hand over the role to person who’s making a comeback to the ODI squad.

The squad is as follows:

Dimuth Karunaratne (c) Angelo Mathews Lasith Malinga Kusal Perera
Avishka Fernando Lahiru Thirimanne Kusal Mendis Dhananjaya de Silva
Jeffery Vandersay Thisara Perera Isuru Udana Suranga Lakmal
Nuwan Pradeep Milinda Siriwardana Jeevan Mendis

The announcement marks the return of Angelo Matthews who has been in and out of the national outfit due to injury concerns lately. The team has decided to move on from Dinesh Chandimal, Upul Tharanga, Niroshan Dickwella and Danushka Gunathilaka.