These PSL 2019 Stars Were Not Picked for PSL 2020

Now that the Pakistan Super League (PSL) draft for 2020 is over, it is time to look at how the teams stack up. The teams are pretty well-balanced, however, Peshawar Zalmi and Islamabad United seem to have stitched up very solid units.

This, however, doesn’t imply that the other teams are totally out of shape or lack the ability to win the trophy. The upcoming edition of the PSL promises to be more competitive and all eyes will be on youngsters picked in the emerging category.

Let’s have a look at the players who participated, or were drafted, in the previous edition of PSL, but won’t be a part of PSL 2020 due to different reasons. Most of these players seem to have gotten out of favors with the team management of their respective franchises, whereas some have withdrawn from the league due to personal reasons and international commitments.

Quetta Gladiators Anwar Ali
Dwayne Bravo
Danish Aziz
Ghulam Mudassar
Sunil Narine
Mohammad Asghar
Jalat Khan
Hassaan Khan
Saud Shakeel
Dwayne Smith
Peshawar Zalmi Andre Fletcher
Ibtisam Sheikh
Jamal Anwar
Khalid Usman
Wayne Madsen
Dawid Malan
Nabi Gul
Sameen Gul
Sohaib Maqsood
Waqar Salamkheil
Islamabad United Mohammad Sami
Ian Bell
Nasir Nawaz
Wayne Parnell
Sahibzada Farhan
Waqas Maqsood
Zahir Khan
Karachi Kings Abrar Ahmed
Ali Imran
Aaron Summers
Multan Sultans Johnson Charles
Daniel Christian
Joe Denly
Laurie Evans
Chris Green
Hammad Azam
Mohammad Abbas
Mohammad Junaid
Tom Moores
Nauman Ali
Qais Ahmed
Andre Russell
Shakeel Ansar
Umar Siddiq
Nicholas Pooran
Steven Smith (Withdrawn)
Mohammad Irfan Jr.
Lahore Qalandars Agha Salman
Aizaz Cheema
Corey Anderson
Carlos Brathwaite
Anton Devcich
AB de Villiers
Gauhar Ali
Haris Sohail
Sandeep Lamichhane
Mohammad Imran
Mohammad Saad
Brendan Taylor
Umair Masood
Hardus Viljoen
Yasir Shah

Some of the big names which will not feature in the PSL 5 include AB de Villiers, Carlos Brathwaite, Corey Anderson, Steven Smith, Joe Denly, Daniel Christian, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Dwayne Bravo, Dawid Malan, and Sunil Narine among others.

When it comes to local players, Yasir Shah, Haris Sohail, Aizaz Cheema, Saud Shakeel, Mohammad Sami, Hammad Azam, Mohammad Abbas, Sahibzada Farhan, Waqas Maqsood, Sohaib Maqsood, Sameen Gul, Ibtesam Sheikh, Mohammad Asghar, Hassaan Khan, Anwar Ali among others have also failed to retain their place in the league.

Not just this, a number of talented young cricketers, who should have been picked, have been ignored. Some of the names include Hasan Mohsin, Abdullah Shafiq, Zeeshan Malik, Mukhtar Ahmed, etc.