Find Out How Much Income Tax Pakistani Politicians Pay

Until a few years ago, Pakistanis had no idea how much taxes Pakistani politicians paid or what was the net worth of their assets. This changed when government was pressurized to reveal the information to the public back in 2014.

When the first list of how much tax was paid by politicians was published, it was found that almost one-third of the MNAs did not pay a single rupee of tax while several paid taxes which were less than what a commoner pays.

FBR has now published its fourth “Parliamentarians Tax Directory” today. The list details the amount of income tax paid by all 1010 Pakistani parliamentarians (MNAs, MPAs, Senators etc.).

It must be mentioned that there are still some parliamentarians who are yet to submit their tax returns and have been allowed an extra month to do so.

This directory contains information for the tax year 2016 i.e. the one that ended on 30 June 2016.

Some notable politicians and there income tax returns have been listed below:

  • Muhammad Nawaz Sharif – Rs. 2,524,213
  • Jahangir Khan Tareen – Rs. 53,677,426
  • Pervaiz Rasheed – Rs. 137,271
  • Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif – Rs. 9,531,060
  • Syed Murad Ali Shah – Rs. 743,471
  • Sirajul Haq – Rs. 34,941
  • Molana Fazal Ur Rehman – Rs. 50,181
  • Imran Khan – Rs. 159,609
  • Syed Khurshid Ahmed Shah – Rs. 124,215
  • Mushahid Ullah Khan – Rs. 11,313
  • Asad Umar – Rs. 6,368,864
  • Pervaiz Khattak – Rs. 813,869
  • Nisar Ali Khan – Rs. 1,192,618
  • Sheikh Rashid Ahmed – Rs. 505,966
  • Pervaiz Ellahi – Rs. 1,482,588
  • Khawaja Mohammad Asif – Rs. 831,986
  • Ahsan Iqbal – Rs. 82,440
  • Ali Muhammad Khan – Rs. 65,686
  • Sardar Ayaz Sadiq – Rs. 104,853
  • Khawaja Saad Rafique – Rs. 3,983,491
  • Faryal Talpur – Rs. 1,903,571
  • Mehmood Khan Achakzai – Rs. 17,470
  • Anusha Rahman Ahmad Khan – Rs. 97,906
  • Marriyum Aurangzeb – Rs. 50,181
  • Dr Shireen Mehrunnisa Mazari – Rs. 1,347,054
  • Murad Saeed – Rs. 34,941
  • Rana Sana Ullah Khan – Rs. 1,228,936
  • Syed Qaim Ali Shah – Rs. 51,579
  • Dr Muhammad Farooq Sattar – Rs. 39,758
  • Mohammad Ishaq Dar – Rs. 4,617,328

The highest amount of tax was paid by Jahangir Khan Tareen (Rs. 53,677,426). The lowest amount of tax was paid by Fayaz Ali Butt (Rs. 1,095 only).

We leave the rest to our readers to decide whether the income taxes paid by the politicians are enough to justify their income from personal businesses, everyday expenses and even salaries from foreign jobs.

The complete list of all parliamentarians can be viewed here.

Have something to say or want to know more about this? Drop an email at [email protected] or find Aadil Shadman on Twitter (@ashadman25) or Facebook(

He is the Editor at ProPakistani.

  • Well this time, Jahangir Khan Tareen faceing a court trial for tax scandals by Haneef Abbasi. Strange na.

    • Ali

      اس میں عجیب کیا ہے … چوری نہیں کی تو تلاشی میں کیا حرج ہے ؟

      • Karachiite

        He has paid 70 million fine for insider trading in stock market. That’s called caught with pants down.

        • DJ

          at least he has paid yahan per tu khuch aisye bi hia jo Iqamye lay kay mulk ko lootye hain :) and check he is highest tax payer right now so please !! koi yah nai kahta kay doodh ka dhula hai but better then ganja crooks

  • Muhammad Ashraf

    zardari name is missing

    • Mustafa Jamal

      He is not parliamentarian

      • But TAX Applicable Hota hai Us Par

        • Mustafa Jamal

          Yes if he has declared his assets wisely :)

    • bilal hussain

      usy exempt ha tax :D

  • Fayaz Ali Butt, Shyd office boy hai. :D

  • Kinte Amount Par Kitna Tax Laga : Wo Bhi Dekhao : Payment Submission Proff

  • Abid Ali

    Propakistani should be doing professionally, list those taxes from descending order.

  • DAR is on TOP Position : Imran Bhai Phir Bhi Corrupt Kehte hai

    • Waqas

      Assets be to billions of rupees ke hain usky.

  • Ahmed Habib

    So, Imran khan is evading taxes, he earn more but he hides his money from Israel and India etc.

    See how much tax Nawaz Sharif paid:
    Muhammad Nawaz Sharif – Rs. 2,524,213

    • DJ

      hahahhaha :D achanak ab kaisye tax daina shoroo ho gia :P ab konsi income aye hia PM sb ko :P

    • Masroor Hussain

      maulana sahab ye Imran ki har baat Israel pe aisy he pohch jati hy? Ya sirf Islam ka nam lekr apni chori chupani hoti hy? agenda to nawaz sharif ki party ka hy israel wala k mulk ko loot lo or India k paaon chaato subah sham jitni mrzi terrorism krwaye wo.

    • FuriousNinja

      Kbi kehte ho k Israel or India k payroll pr h IK and then you say he hides money from India and Israel?

      Please let us know the stuff you lot smoke while praising our present Govt.

  • Muhammad Akbar

    Mian Muhammad Shareef was not a politician. He died in 2004…

  • Mehmood Khan Achakzai
    Mushahid Ullah Khan
    say ziada to hum nay pay kardia es ka matlab ha hum b election lar sakty hian :D

  • Afzal Mahmoud Mirza

    Sorry to mention here they travel in million of rupees cars and give taxes in thousands. Who will control these people (people of Pakistan if they know the power of their vote)