One of the most awaited features for WhatsApp is now finally here. You can now delete sent messages from a conversation. It does have a few conditions and limitations attached to it though.
The feature was already being tested for quite some time and is now finally ready for primetime.
How to Delete Messages
The ability to delete texts can be accessed like pretty much any other Whatsapp feature.
- Select the message you need to delete.
- Select the trash icon.
- You will then receive a pop-up that will give you the “delete for everyone” and the “delete for me” option.
- Selecting delete for everyone, will remove the message from the recipient’s end as well.
- Upon deleting the message , the message will instead be replaced with, “You deleted this message”
- On the receiver’s side it will read “This message was deleted”.
Terms and Conditions
As mentioned, like every other desirable thing in life, the feature comes with a few strings of its own attached. For starters, the message needs to be deleted within seven minutes after it’s sent. The message cannot be deleted on the receiver’s side after that (you can still delete it on your side if you like burying your head in the sand).
According to the updated FAQ page on WhatsApp:
Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats. Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.
Available on Google Play Store
The new feature is now available on the latest version of Whatsapp on the Google Play Store. Update your WhatsApp to the latest version to use the message deletion feature.
Do note that both parties in the conversation need to have the latest version of the app installed on their phones, which is a bit of an issue as not all users jump to the latest updates as they arrive.
Just make sure your friends have the latest version of the app on the devices.