Mumbai Indians Clinch 4th IPL Title by Beating Chennai Super Kings

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 is finally over and Mumbai Indians (MI) have won a thriller at Hyderabad to add yet another IPL title to their trophy cabinet.


Both Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai had previously won three IPL titles albeit the former team was suspended for 2 years on corruption charges in 2016 and 2017.

It was a deserving win for Rohit Sharma’s men as both teams made plenty of mistakes on the field. Even then, it was a nail-biter and Mumbai’s premier pacer, Lasith Malinga held his nerve to defend 9 off the final over.

Batting first, Mumbai posted a meager total of 149/8 after late fireworks from Kieron Pollard.

For Chennai, Shane Watson was the main architect of the chase as he top-scored with 80 from 59. However, his run-out in the last over in a bid to steal a double helped Mumbai tie down the opposition. Two wickets in the final over, some brilliant death bowling from Malinga and a tight spell from Jasprit Bumrah helped Mumbai trump Dhoni XI for a hard-earned win.

Bumrah was the man of the match for his breathtaking spell of fast bowling. He ended with figures of 2 for 14 in 4 overs.

Interestingly, Rohit Sharma has won all 4 IPL titles against MS Dhoni’s teams; three against Chennai and one against Rising Pune Supergiants.

  • close