Google Chrome Will Now Warn You When Your Passwords Get Stolen

Google is adding a new feature to its browser that will warn you in case your username and password were compromised in a data breach. The company is delivering its promise of protecting user passwords inside chrome.

According to Google, the company has been working on this feature for a while now. Earlier this year, the feature was rolled out as an extension, and in October, it was embedded directly to Google accounts. Now, it has become a part of the set of features provided by google chrome. Hence, the next time you log in, the browser will warn you if the password and username are compromised and will also ask you to change the passwords that have been reused.

Apart from this, Google has also added real-time phishing protection to its desktop browser. Even though, Google chrome already notifies the users if it thinks the user is navigating to a website that will steal his/her information. However, the new feature will build on Google’s safe browsing database and is 30% more efficient.

Previously, the phishing protection was only available if Chrome’s sync feature was enabled. However, the new feature does not have any such requirements. Moreover, it will work with all the passwords stored in Google’s password manager.

All these new features will be rolled out over the next few weeks.



close
>