Here’s When Schools Reopen in Each Province

The provinces have announced the dates for reopening educational institutions and the resumption of academic activities.

The Government of Sindh has announced that the educational institutions in 12 of its districts will remain closed until 6 June as the coronavirus positivity ratio in those districts is higher than five percent, while the institutes in the rest of the districts will open on 24 May.

Similarly, the Government of Punjab has decided to reopen all the public and private schools in 16 districts on 24 May and has extended the closure of educational institutions in six districts until 6 June. The districts in which the schools are reopening are Bahawalnagar, Jhang, Nankana Sahib, Sahiwal, Chakwal, Jhelum, Narowal, Sheikhupura, Chiniot, Kasur, Pakpattan, Sialkot, Hafizabad, Mandi Bahuddin, Rajanpur, and Vehari.


Govt to Vaccinate Teachers on Priority Basis

The Education Secretary of Balochistan has announced that its educational institutions will be reopened and academic activities will be resumed in all the private and government schools on 24 May, except for in Quetta.

In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP), the Elementary and Secondary Education Department announced that all the government and private educational institutions will reopen in 21 districts on Monday, 24 May, but that those in the remaining districts with a positivity rate of higher than five percent will remain closed.


Pakistan Begins Coronavirus Vaccination for 30+ Age Group

KP’s districts where the educational institutions will be reopened are Battagram, Buner, Lower Chitral, Upper Chitral, Dera Ismail Khan, Hangu, Khyber, Upper Kohistan, Lower Kohistan, Kolai-Palas, Karak, Kurram, Lakki Marwat, Mohmand, Malakand, Orakzai, Swat, North Waziristan, South Waziristan, Tank, and Torghar.