Iraq Bans Entry of Pakistani Citizens

Iraq has banned the entry of citizens from Pakistan and India through air and land until further notice, due to the surge in coronavirus cases.

Iraq’s federal government had issued new travel guidelines on 24 May which detailed that travelers from Pakistan, India Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Brazil, Colombia, and Bahrain have been prohibited entry to the country.


Several Flights Face Delays at Karachi Airport

According to the new guidelines, the decision to ban citizens from these countries entering Iraqi territory had been made in consideration of the surge in the cases of the mutated coronavirus.

In other news, the government of Canada has also extended its ban on direct flights from India and Pakistan until June 21 to control the spread of the virus. The initial ban was placed on 22 April, which had to expire on 22 May.


Ship Carrying Hazardous Liquid Reaches Pakistan Despite Warning

The Minister for Transportation, Omar Alghabra, said “Our battle against COVID-19 continues. On April 22, Transport Canada issued a notice to ban all direct commercial and private passenger flights from India and Pakistan for 30 days based on public health advice to reduce the importation risk of COVID-19 and its variants,” he said.

“We are now extending this measure to June 21,” Alghabra added.