The 12th edition of ICC Cricket World Cup is scheduled to start from 30th May this year and it promises to be a cracker of an event.  When it comes to participating teams, a total of 10 nations will play at the mega event.

These include:

  • Australia
  • Pakistan
  • India
  • New Zealand
  • England
  • Sri Lanka
  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • South Africa
  • West Indies

Australia are the defending champions and they will begin their title defense this year against Afghanistan on 1st June at Bristol. Australia is the most successful team at the World Cup with a record 5 times. These include 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015. Ricky Ponting has won the World Cup twice while Michael Clarke is the most recent World Cup winning captain.

Next come the West Indies and India as both teams have won the prestigious trophy twice. Clive Lloyd led West Indies to triumph in the first two tournaments in 1975 and 1975, whereas India won the next event in 1983 under the captaincy of Kapil Dev. India’s second World Cup win came in 2011 at home as MS Dhoni steered his team to victory in the final against Sri Lanka.

Pakistan and Sri Lanka are the only other teams to have won the tournament. Pakistan did it in 1992 when Imran Khan’s Cornered Tigers conquered the world, whereas Sri Lanka produced a brilliant campaign to clinch the trophy in 1996.

Teams like England and New Zealand have failed to win the trophy despite some great campaigns. England lost to Pakistan in the famous 1992 World Cup final whereas New Zealand suffered a defeat to Australia in the 2015 edition final.

Teams this time around are looking much balanced and it could be anyone’s World Cup. While there are no clear favorites, England and India are among the strongest contenders to lift the trophy at Lord’s.