BAFTA Awards 2024: Oppenheimer Dominates with Seven Wins

Here is the full list of winners and nominees from last night’s glamorous award show.

The BAFTA Awards 2024 unfolded in a night of glitz, glamour, and celebration of cinematic brilliance, as Oppenheimer emerged as the big winner of the evening, clinching multiple prestigious awards.

Hosted at the Royal Festival Hall in London, the star-studded event captivated audiences worldwide with its lineup of unforgettable moments and heartfelt tributes.

Christopher Nolan’s masterpiece, Oppenheimer dominated the BAFTA Awards, securing seven golden BAFTA masks, including the coveted award for Best Film. The film’s stellar cast and crew, led by actor Cillian Murphy, were also honored, reaffirming its status as a cinematic tour de force.

Following closely behind, Poor Things emerged as another formidable contender, garnering five wins at the BAFTAs. The film’s stellar performances and captivating storyline captivated audiences and critics alike, earning accolades across various categories.

Here is the complete list of winners and nominees from BAFTA 2024:


Anatomy of a Fall — Marie-Ange Luciani, David Thion
The Holdovers — Mark Johnson
Killers of the Flower Moon — Dan Friedkin, Daniel Lupi, Martin Scorsese, Bradley Thomas
Oppenheimer — Christopher Nolan, Charles Roven, Emma Thomas — WINNER
Poor Things — Ed Guiney, Yorgos Lanthimos, Andrew Lowe, Emma Stone


All of Us Strangers, Andrew Haigh
Anatomy of a Fall, Justine Triet
The Holdovers, Alexander Payne
Maestro, Bradley Cooper
Oppenheimer, Christopher Nolan — WINNER
The Zone of Interest, Jonathan Glazer


Emily Blunt, Oppenheimer
Danielle Brooks, The Color Purple
Claire Foy, All of Us Strangers
Sandra Hüller, The Zone of Interest
Rosamund Pike, Saltburn
Da’Vine Joy Randolph, The Holdovers — WINNER


Robert De Niro, Killers of the Flower Moon
Robert Downey Jr., Oppenheimer — WINNER
Jacob Elordi, Saltburn
Ryan Gosling, Barbie
Paul Mescal, All of Us Strangers
Dominic Sessa, The Holdovers


Fantasia Barrino, The Color Purple
Sandra Hüller, Anatomy of a Fall
Carey Mulligan, Maestro
Vivian Oparah, Rye Lane
Margot Robbie, Barbie
Emma Stone, Poor Things — WINNER


Bradley Cooper, Maestro
Colman Domingo, Rustin
Paul Giamatti, The Holdovers
Barry Keoghan, Saltburn
Cillian Murphy, Oppenheimer — WINNER
Teo Yoo, Past Lives


Phoebe Dynevor
Ayo Edebiri
Jacob Elordi
Mia McKenna-Bruce — WINNER
Sophie Wilde


Anatomy of a Fall — Justine Triet, Arthur Harari — WINNER
Barbie — Greta Gerwig, Noah Baumbach
The Holdovers — David Hemingson
Maestro — Bradley Cooper, Josh Singer
Past Lives — Celine Song


All of Us Strangers, Andrew Haigh
American Fiction, Cord Jefferson — WINNER
Oppenheimer, Christopher Nolan
Poor Things, Tony McNamara
The Zone of Interest, Jonathan Glazer


20 Days in Mariupol — Mstyslav Chernov, Raney Aronson Rath
Anatomy of a Fall — Justine Triet, Marie-Ange Luciani, David Thion
Past Lives — Celine Song, David Hinojosa, Pamela Koffler, Christine Vachon
Society of the Snow — J.A. Bayona, Belen Atienza
The Zone of Interest — Jonathan Glazer — WINNER


The Boy and the Heron — Hayao Miyazaki, Toshio Suzuki — WINNER
Chicken Run: Dawn of the Nugget — Sam Fell, Leyla Hobart, Steve Pegram
Elemental — Peter Sohn, Denise Ream
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse — Joaquim Dos Santos, Kemp Powers, Justin K. Thompson, Avi Arad, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller, Amy Pascal, Christina Steinberg


20 Days in Mariupol — Mstyslav Chernov, Raney Aronson Rath — WINNER
American Symphony — Matthew Heineman, Lauren Domino, Joedan Okun
Beyond Utopia — Madeleine Gavin, Rachel Cohen, Jana Edelbaum
Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie — Davis Guggenheim, Jonathan King, Annetta Marion
Wham! — Chris Smith


All of Us Strangers — Andrew Haigh, Graham Broadbent, Pete Czernin, Sarah Harvey
How to Have Sex — Molly Manning Walker, Emily Leo, Ivana MacKinnon, Konstantinos Kontovrakis
Napoleon — Ridley Scott, Mark Huffam, Kevin J. Walsh, David Scarpa
The Old Oak — Ken Loach, Rebecca O’Brien, Paul Laverty
Poor Things — Yorgos Lanthimos, Ed Guiney, Andrew Lowe, Emma Stone, Tony McNamara
Rye Lane — Raine Allen-Miller, Yvonne Isimeme Ibazebo, Damian Jones, Nathan Bryon, Tom Melia
Saltburn — Emerald Fennell, Josey McNamara, Margot Robbie
Scrapper — Charlotte Regan, Theo Barrowclough
Wonka — Paul King, Alexandra Derbyshire, David Heyman, Simon Farnaby
The Zone of Interest — Jonathan Glazer, James Wilson, Ewa Puszczyńska — WINNER


Blue Bag Life — Lisa Selby (Director), Rebecca Lloyd-Evans (Director, Producer), Alex Fry (Producer)
Bobi Wine: The People’s President — Christopher Sharp (Director) [also directed Moses Bwayo]
Earth Mama — Savanah Leaf (Writer, Director, Producer), Shirley O’Connor (Producer), Medb Riordan (Producer) — WINNER
How to Have Sex — Molly Manning Walker (Writer, Director)
Is There Anybody Out There? — Ella Glendining (Director)

BAFTA chair Sarah Putt welcomed a star-studded audience to the ceremony, which included Prince William, the president of BAFTA, among other luminaries from the entertainment industry.

Hosted by Doctor Who star David Tennant, the evening was filled with laughter, poignant moments, and unforgettable performances.

Tennant kicked off the show with a pre-recorded sketch inspired by his lockdown series Staged, setting the tone for an evening of entertainment and celebration.

Presenters, including David Beckham and Dua Lipa, added to the glitz and excitement of the event, while Sophie Ellis-Bextor’s performance of “Murder on the Dancefloor” added a touch of musical flair to the proceedings.

Throughout the night, emotional highlights and touching tributes left a lasting impact on attendees and viewers alike. Ted Lasso star Hannah Waddingham delivered a stirring rendition of “Time After Time” during the In Memoriam segment, honoring the memory of luminaries such as Tina Turner and Michael Gambon. Additionally, the appearance of Michael J Fox, who presented the award for Best Film, provided a poignant moment as he spoke passionately about the transformative power of cinema.

The BAFTA Awards 2024 showcased the best of the film industry, celebrating creativity, talent, and storytelling prowess. As the curtains closed on another memorable ceremony, audiences were left inspired by the magic of cinema and eagerly anticipating the next chapter in the world of film.