Top Teams

T20 World Cup 2024

Top cricketing nations have set their sights on the coveted T20 World Cup 2024 trophy. The ninth edition of the tournament is right around the corner with as many as 20 teams fighting to become the champions.

The 2024 T20 World Cup is being held in the United States and the West Indies for the first time in history. The previous edition of the competition was held in 2022 in Australia. England won the 2022 trophy by defeating Pakistan in the final. They will try to defend their title in front of enthusiastic crowds in the USA and the Caribbean.

A total of 20 teams will take part in the competition, with teams divided into 4 groups of five.

T20 World Cup Format

According to the format, the T20 World Cup 2024 will consist of two rounds before the knockout stages. 20 teams will be divided into 4 groups of 5 teams each. the top 2 from each group will qualify for the Super 8s stage of the tournament.

The top 2 from each Super 8s group will then move on to the semi-finals of the mega-event.

T20 World Cup Venues

For the first time in history, the T20 World Cup is taking place in the USA and the West Indies. The mega-event will be held at a total of nine venues. The matches will take place in New York, Florida and Texas in the USA and six different venues in the Caribbean.

The first semi-final of T20 World Cup 2024 is scheduled at Trinidad while the second semi-final will be held at Guyana. The final of the tournament, scheduled for 10 November, will take place at the historic Kensington Ovalm Barbados.

T20 World Cup Schedule

The T20 World Cup 2024 will kick off with an exciting match between Canada and USA on 2 June in Dallas, Texas. The final match of the first round will be played between West Indies and Afghanistan on 18 June in St. Lucia.

The high-octane clash between arch-rivals Pakistan and India will set the tournament alight on 9 June at the New York Cricket Stadium.

The Super 8s stage of the tournament will start on 20 June in Antigua.

The semi-finals of the tournament will be held on 26 and 27 June, while the final of the mega-event will be held on 29 June.

T20 World Cup Squads and Teams

Arch-rivals Pakistan and India are together in Group A alongside Canada, USA and Ireland.

England, Australia, Nambia, Scotland and Oman will compete in Group B while New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, PNG and Uganda are in Group C.

Group D consists of South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands and Nepal.

All 20 teams in the competition have announced their 15-man squads for the mega-event. The teams have also enlisted additional reserve players in the squad. The reserves will only come into the squad in case a player in the initial 15-man squad gets injured or is ruled out of action for a legitimate reason.

T20 World Cup Previous Winners

England are the defending champions of the tournament as they lifted the trophy for the second time in the previous edition. They defeated Pakistan by 5 wickets in the final at Melbourne in 2022.

West Indies is the only team to win the tournament more than once. They lifted their first title in 2012 before repeating the feat in 2016. The West Indies defeated Sri Lanka in the 2012 final and beat England in the final of the 2016 T20 World Cup.

Pakistan won the tournament once, defeating Sri Lanka in the 2009 final at Lord’s. They suffered a heart-breaking loss in the final of the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2007 against arch-rivals India.

Sri Lanka and England are the other two winners of the T20 World Cup. England won the 2010 and 2022 editions, while Sri Lanka emerged victorious in the 2014 edition.

Check out the T20 World Cup points table, live streaming, and stats here!

Get Alerts

ProPakistani Community

Join the groups below to get latest news and updates.