Punjab to Computerise Arms Licences in 9 Districts

The Punjab government and the National Database and Registration Authority (NADRA) had signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) to start issuing computerized arms licenses in the province.

Not to mention, the MoU for initiation of the service was signed in April 2014, however, the process which was delayed due to non-appointment of Chairman NADRA. The process has now been initiated and service will be made live soon.

A statement said that in initial phase licenses will be given in 9 districts of Punjab and old licenses will be replaced by smart cards.

These nine districts include:

  • Rawalpindi
  • Multan
  • D. G. Khan
  • Sahiwal
  • Bahawalpur
  • Lahore
  • Gujrat
  • Gujranwala
  • Sargodha
  • Faisalabad

All the applicants for renewal of their arm license will submit their application in respective district’s Deputy Commissioner Office, along their old arm license, photocopy of computerized national identity card and challan.

Applicant will be given a token after attestation of all his documents. Later on applicant will have to go through the processes of bio metric, digital photography and other such systems.

After successfully completing the whole process applicant’s old license will be cancelled and new temporary permit will be issued.