Multan Sultans Beat Defending Champions for the Second Time In PSL 2018

Multan Sultans consolidated their top spot by overcoming the reigning champions Peshawar Zalmi for the second time in this year’s PSL.


With 4 wins out of 6, Multan has now 9 points, ahead of Karachi Kings who are sitting at 7 points from 5 games.

Match 16: Peshawar Zalmi vs Multan Sultans

Toss: Peshawar Zalmi, elected to bowl

Multan Sultans Innings

There was no stopping Multan batting line as openers Ahmed Shehzad and Kumar Sangakkara provided a solid opening stand of 51. Sohaib Maqsood took over from where Sanga had left and went on to score a fiery 85* off just 42 balls.

Massive hitting from Sohaib Maqsood powered Multan to 183/3 making it a very challenging chase for Peshawar.

Peshawar Zalmi Innings

Peshawar needed an explosive opening partnership which their openers failed to muster. Mohammad Hafeez (56) and Liam Dawson (32) played well but could not get their team over the line.

Sohail Tanvir and Kieron Pollard took three each ensuring that Multan defended the target easily.


Summary: Multan Sultans won by 19 runs

1st Innings:
Multan Sultans — 183 for 3 (20 overs)
Sohaib Maqsood 85* (42)
Liam Dawson 1-17 (4 overs)

2nd Innings:
Peshawar Zalmi — 164 for 8 (20 overs)
Mohammad Hafeez 56 (41)
Sohail Tanvir 3-14 (4 overs)

Man of the Match: Sohaib Maqsood (Multan Sultans)



See ProPakistani in...
ProPakistani App