Wasim Akram Refuses to Delink Himself From the T10 League

Former legendary fast bowler Wasim Akram will continue his stint with the T10 League despite joining Karachi Kings as a President.

Akram is part of the Maratha Arabians coaching staff, and T10 League’s talent hunt program will continue working with both leagues despite the conflict of interest.

It is interesting to learn that Shahid Afridi, the former President of Karachi Kings parted ways with the franchise after he was asked to disassociate himself from the T10 League.


Wasim Akram Will be the New President of Karachi Kings

The drama started when the owner of Kings, Salman Iqbal, stepped down from the presidency of T10 League just a month ago citing the reason that the management of T10 League was trying to associate itself with PSL to leverage the brand.

As per sources, the initial draft of the agreement presented the same demands, but former Islamabad United and Multan Sultans mentor refused to sign the deal forcing Kings management to exclude the term.

On the flip side, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), after initial resistance, finally allowed some players to participate in the 10-over cricket league which kicks off on November 21 in Sharjah.


Shahid Afridi Leaves Karachi Kings Ahead of PSL 4 Drafts

Paceman Mohammad Amir was asked to refrain from playing to maintain fitness ahead of the World Cup.

Seasoned all-rounder Shoaib Malik has also distanced himself from this season of the league citing family reasons. However, sources hint PCB’s pressure was behind Malik’s decision.

Some players will miss the league due to national duty, as the Test series between Pakistan and New Zealand will collide with the schedule.

Despite the obvious hurdles, a good number of Pakistani players will be in action in shortest format cricket gala starting in the deserts of UAE next week.

Here is the list of national players taking part in T10 League:

  • Shahid Afridi
  • Sohail Tanvir
  • Imran Nazir
  • Aamir Yamin,
  • Mohammad Irfan Jr.
  • Wahab Riaz,
  • Junaid Khan
  • Mohammad Sami
  • Umar Akmal
  • Anwar Ali
  • Hasan Khan
  • Kamran Akmal
  • Rahat Ali
  • Mohammad Nawaz