Govt to Dissolve the Ministry of Energy

There will now be two separate ministries for Petroleum and Power divisions instead of a single Ministry for Energy following Federal Government’s decision to dissolve the ministry. With Power and Petroleum already working separately for years, Ministry for Energy had become redundant. The summary for the decision will be moved before the Federal Cabinet on 30th April.

The summary has already been prepared and if it is approved, Rules of Business will have to be amended. It is worth mentioning that the Ministry of Energy was established during PML N tenure in 2017.

The incumbent government has been either merging or dissolving similar governmental entities. Earlier, there was news suggesting that the Earthquake Reconstruction and Rehabilitation Authority (ERRA) was to be merged with the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) in order to improve departmental efficiency and decrease costs.

While more details are yet to emerge, it looks like the austerity drive is creeping into the government organizations and this step is a reflection of it.

Feature Writer

  • Ltd feature videos

    Watch more at LTD