England Give Nod to Jofra Archer & Liam Dawson for World Cup Squad

The number 1 ranked team in the world, England, had a daunting task of picking the World Cup squad from a list of very capable candidates with massive potential.

England selection committee announced the selection of Jofra Archer and Liam Dawson in the final 15 on Tuesday.

Archer, who has only played 3 one-day internationals for England, has been selected over David Willey whereas Liam Dawson replaces Joe Denly.

Dawson last featured in the England side in October. However, his slow left-arm bowling provides an authentic alternative if either one of Moeen Ali or Adil Rashid gets injured.

The remaining players in the squad include all the players who had made a strong case for themselves in the last 12 months or so.

The complete squad is as follows:

  1. Eoin Morgan (c)
  2. Jason Roy
  3. Jonny Bairstow
  4. Joe Root
  5. James Vince
  6. Jos Buttler
  7. Ben Stokes
  8. Moeen Ali
  9. Liam Dawson
  10. Chris Woakes
  11. Liam Plunkett
  12. Mark Wood
  13. Tom Curran
  14. Jofra Archer
  15. Adil Rashid

  • close