OGRA Ordered to Reprimand Gas Distribution Companies for Overbilling Customers

The Standing Committee on the Cabinet Secretariat has asked the Oil & Gas Regulatory Authority to assert its regulatory authority and address the issue of overbilling by the Gas Distribution Companies.

The committee had noted that genuine customers should not suffer on the pretext of faulty gas meters and gas pilferage and decided to call the Chiefs of the Oil & Gas Regulatory Authority (OGRA), the Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL), and the Sui Southern Gas Company (SSGCL) to its next meeting to discuss the issue.

It met under the Chairpersonship of MNA Kishwer Zehra at the Parliament House this morning.

It was apprised about the OGRA (Amendment) Bill, 2021, which is aimed at bringing the entire Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG) and Re-gasified Liquefied Gas (RLNG) licensing and pricing under the regulatory framework of the OGRA. It was also informed that the amendment in question will empower the OGRA to determine and announce the RLNG sale price under the OGRA Ordinance, 2002.

The bill was approved by the committee after due deliberations. While discussing the OGRA (Amendment) Bill, 2021, the committee observed that the bill needs more deliberation, for which it will take the matter up again in the ensuing meeting.

After debating over the OGRA (Amendment) Bill, 2021, that had been moved by MNA Kesoo Mal Kheeal Dasit, the committee disapproved of it. It was told that the bill is aimed at providing provincial representation in the OGRA.

The Chairman of the OGRA contended that the OGRA deals with the marketing and regulation of the midstream and downstream gas and oil sectors, which is why the amendment proposed by the MNA will change its structure. He added that all the issues related to the exploration of oil and gas are discussed in the Council of Common Interest which has an appropriate representation of the provinces.

The meeting was attended by MNAs Saleem Rehman, Khawaja Sheraz Mehmood, Muhammad Aslam Khan, Uzma Riaz, Muhammad Hashim, Rasheed Ahmad Khan, Shahnaz Saleem Malik, Seema Mohiuddin Jameeli, Mir Ghulam Ali Talpur, Syed Mehmood Shah, Mover Kesoo Mal Kheal Das; the Additional Secretary of the Cabinet Division; the  Chairman of the OGRA; and other officers of concerned departments.