If you are done with Instagram and don’t want to use it, you get two options. You can either delete Instagram account for a certain period of time or simply remove your presence from the Social media giant eternally, but you can still make a comeback.
Whether you want to take a break or permanently get rid of Instagram, then you have come to the right place. This article will provide you complete guide even with selecting the right option. So, read it carefully to know how to deactivate Instagram or Delete Instagram account.
Which You Should Choose? Deactivate vs. Delete
In case you don’t know which path you should take between deactivating or deleting Instagram account, then you need to learn the differences between the two. Here is what happens when you delete Instagram account:
- You cannot reverse your decision.
- You lose Followers, Photos, Comments, and Likes permanently.
- Someone else might claim your username, and you could lose it.
What happens when you disable Instagram account:
- You can reverse your decision.
- You do not lose your Followers, Photos, Comments, and Likes.
- Your account gets hidden, but you can still get it back where you left off.
Keeping all these conditions, now it’s up to you to select the right option between deleting your Instagram account or deactivating it. If you delete your Instagram account, you can back up your Instagram data. Keep reading, and you will find the solution for backup, including the Instagram image backup.
How to Deactivate Instagram Account?
Deactivation your instagram is a better option than you delete Instagram account. With this method, you will be able to get everything back if you later decide to log in to Instagram. This feature is also very useful when your exams start, and you don’t want to spend all your time on social media.
Deactivating Instagram is not available through iPhone and android applications. You have to log in to Instagram through the web browser. The steps given below will help you with how to deactivate Instagram account.
- Open Instagram on your computer and log in.
- Hit on your Profile Photo.
- Select the Profile option, and then Edit Profile.
- Navigate to Temporarily disable my account option at the bottom and click on it.
- It will prompt you, “Why are you disabling your account?” select the option of your choice.
- Now, enter your password, and click on Temporarily disable Account.
After this, your Instagram is hidden from everyone. When you search for your username in the search, you won’t see your profile. Even your followers will not be able to see your Instagram.
In the future, if you decide to come back to Instagram, you need to follow the next method.
How to Reactivate Instagram Account?
When you decide to make a comeback on Instagram, then you need to reactivate Instagram account. Remember that you may not be able to use your account right after you deactivate it. It will make you wait up to 24 hours. Follow the steps to reactivate Instagram:
- Open Instagram on your browser or launch its app on your phone.
- Enter your credential and log in to Instagram.
When you hit on Login, it will take you back to where you left off. You will see no change in photos, comments, followers, and chat.
How to Backup Instagram Profile?
If you have decided to delete Instagram account, then you may want to download all your images, comments, and much more. Follow the steps given below to get Instagram chat backup and much more.
- Click on your Profile Picture in the right corner at the bottom.
- Hit on three lines in the upper right corner and select Your activity.
- Scroll to the bottom and select tap on Download Your Information.
- Now, hit on the Request download button after making sure that the email mentioned above is right.
- Enter your Instagram Password and click Next.
- Next, simply request a download.
It can take up to 14 days to receive the email containing your profile backup. Instagram will send you an email with the subject of Your Instagram Data. Click on it and download it.
How to Delete Instagram Account Permanently
After you have backup your profile, now it’s time finally delete Instagram account permanently. In order to permanently disable Instagram account, you need to be using Instagram on the browser of your computer.
Follow the step given below to delete Instagram:
- Go to this “Delete Your Account” page by clicking on this link.
- Log in to Instagram profile that you want to delete.
- It will ask you “Why do you want to delete [account name].”. Select the proper option.
- You may also be asked some additional questions that you can also skip.
- After this, you will need to Enter your Password for the final time to confirm.
- Next, hit on the Permanently delete my account option.
When you complete this procedure, you will not exist anymore on Instagram. As told before, anyone can now claim your username. So, in the future, you will have to choose a new username to create an account on Instagram.
the article brings a complete guide on how to delete Instagram account or how to deactivate Instagram. After reading this, you will have all the required knowledge regarding these queries.