Well, who doesn’t love Nutella? It’s a velvety chocolate hazelnut spread that can be used in numerous ways. But what if the brand all of a sudden says it’s not Halal?
While a lot of people enjoy this sweet delicacy, some have their doubts regarding the ‘Halal tag’ on their products. In order to clear the doubts of thousands of people, a Twitterati went ahead and asked the brand itself.
“@NutellaUSA are your products halal?”
What came next, left everyone puzzled. Nutella has finally responded to all the queries and said that it’s products are not halal.
No, they are not halal.
— Nutella (@NutellaUSA) September 13, 2020
This piece of information spread like a wildfire and the Muslims all over the world went haywire. People were ready to cancel the brand altogether and that’s when some reasonable folks jumped in and controlled the situation.
Hold your horses mate, it’s made of plants, how can it be Haraam?
Where is the forbidden ingredient? 🤷♀️ pic.twitter.com/BGNjOCrN1P
— Robespierrette ☀️@🏡 (@robespierrette) September 14, 2020
Don’t make it sad for us plis.
Are you going to provide any proofs that it's not halal . Please this is heartbreaking.
— 🦇⚡🏹 (@itmoonlight1) September 13, 2020
Ingredients don’t lie.
Y’all, it’s fine. It may not be certified halal but it’s halal by definition. Just check the ingredients bc it could be different elsewhere. pic.twitter.com/Gh2RD8czcz
— 𝔑𝔞𝔣𝔣𝔶 🖤🍒 (@nafology_) September 14, 2020
Nutella is absolutely halal, given that halal means "permissible," & there's nothing forbidden in the listed contents; it's just not halal certified. Nutella is still ok, promise.
— Will Probably Die By Petting A Bear (@tsohgcinam) September 14, 2020
‘Halal’ vs. ‘Halal Certified’
Nutella is suitable for vegetarians, however they can't officially declare it "Halal Certified" due to regulations and laws that prevents them more doing so. However, for future references for Fatwas please don't ask these companies opinions and refer to your local iman/scholar.
— The Professor👨🏿🏫 (@ThePhenomenal66) September 14, 2020
I think what you meant to say was that you are not Halal certified. If you do not have any non-Halal ingredients, the products are Halal… where they are certified or not… You want to get this messaging fixed before the Muslim world quits your product.
— Shuja Malik (@shuja_malik) September 14, 2020
I don’t think Nutella knows what halal means. For us Muslims halal is another way of saying is it permissible for us to eat it. The answer is yes because it does not contain ANIMAL or alcohol. So it’s halal for Muslims but it’s not CERTIFIED. Be clear next time ffs🤦🏾♀️
— Sumi🎓 (@WhaleDucks) September 14, 2020
Nutella Responds to the Controversy
The conversation went down and Twitter was ready to start a fight. Soon, the brand stepped in and cleared all the misunderstanding saying that most of their industrial plants are certified Halal ‘by a third party’. They apologized for the misleading tweet and laid out the facts.
“All Nutella sold worldwide is suitable for Halal consumption. Over 90% of the industrial plants producing Nutella are already Halal certified by a third party and we are in the process of certifying the remaining plants. We apologize for the mistake made in our earlier tweet.”
All Nutella sold worldwide is suitable for Halal consumption. Over 90% of the industrial plants producing Nutella are already Halal certified by a third party and we are in the process of certifying the remaining plants. We apologize for the mistake made in our earlier tweet.
— Nutella (@NutellaUSA) September 14, 2020
Phew! So there you have it guys. Nutella is Halal, just not Halal certified. But you can still enjoy it with bread, put it in a dessert or eat it on its own.
What are your thoughts?