Women Team Announced for Upcoming Tour of New Zealand

Pakistan’s women team has been announced by the interim selection committee — headed by Pakistan’s former batsman Basit Ali — for the series against New Zealand.

A PCB statement read:

The Interim Women’s Cricket Selection Committee headed by Basit Ali has announced 14- member Women’s team squad along with 4 reserves to feature in the ICC Women’s Championship Round -1 against the New Zealand Women Team.

The 3 ODI and 4 T20I series is scheduled to be held from October 31, 2017 to Nov 14, 2017.

After Pakistan’s win-less World Cup campaign earlier this year, Bismah Maroof has officially replaced Sana Mir as the skipper. Javeria Wadood has also been promoted as the vice-captain.

Sana, despite her differences with the cricket board, will continue to be a part of the team.

After being left out for the WC Squad, Aliya Riaz and Aiman Anwar will make their comeback to the ODI fold. Sidra Amin has also been given a second chance, as she will be making her first appearance in the squad after 2016. The 14-woman squad also features the uncapped Natalia Pervaiz.

Speaking of senior players, Asmavia Iqbal and Nain Abidi have been dropped from the squad to make room for other promising candidates.

The committee has also named four reserves which include Anam Amin, Fareeha Mahmood, Ayesha Naz and Rameen Shamim.

Team management to accompany the team are Abdul Raqeeb (Manager), Mark Coles (Head Coach), Shahid Anwar (Batting Coach), Ibrar Ahmad (Trainer), Zubair Ahmad (Analyst) and Sumrah Fatima (Physiotherapist).

Squad and Tour Details

The complete details about the squad and the tour are:

Squad: Ayesha Zafar, Bibi Nahida, Javeria Wadood (VC), Bismah Maroof ( C), Sidra Amin, Iram Javed, Aliya Riaz, Sidra Nawaz (WK), Sana Mir, Diana Baig, Natalia Pervaiz, Aiman Anwar, Nashra Sandhu and Sadia Yousaf.

Reserves: Anam Amin, Fareeha Mahmood, Ayesha Naz and Rameen Shamim.

SEO Team Lead, Content Strategist, and an avid sports lover!

  • close