Ahmed Shehzad Back in Pakistan’s T20 Squad For Series Against New Zealand

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Wednesday revealed the 15-man squad for the T20 series against the Kiwis.

For the three-match series — set to begin from 22nd January — Ahmed Shehzad has been recalled following his good performances in domestic circuit.

The opener had a splendid National Cup 2017 where he was the 2nd highest run scorer, behind Kamran Akmal.

This will mark as a comeback for the opener whereas Imad Wasim and Shoaib Maqsood still remain sidelined due to their respective injuries.

Talking to press, chief selector said Inzamam-ul-Haq said:

Imad Wasim was yet to recover from his knee injury and was told to continue his rehabilitation at the NCA. Mohammad Nawaz has been named to replace Imad Wasim.

Sohaib Maqsood was not considered for selection due to a back injury, and will undergo rehabilitation at the NCA.

Pakistan 15-member T20I Squad

  1. Sarfraz Ahmed (c)(wk)
  2. Fakhar Zaman
  3. Ahmed Shehzad
  4. Babar Azam
  5. Shoaib Malik
  6. Haris Sohail
  7. Mohammad Hafeez
  8. Mohammad Nawaz
  9. Shadab Khan
  10. Faheem Ashraf
  11. Amir Yamin
  12. Mohammad Amir
  13. Hasan Ali
  14. Rumman Raees
  15. Umar Amin

Sports Analyst & Head of Sports Desk.