FIFA Football Awards 2018: Modric Overshadows Ronaldo & Messi

Luka Modric has won the Best FIFA Footballer of the Year ahead of Mohammad Salah and Cristiano Ronaldo. This is the first time any other player apart from Ronaldo and Messi has won since Kaka in 2007.

The decision for the award was made by captains of each international team, their managers and designated media officers from each country. Each person had three selections to make: selecting first-position player who will receive 5 points, second-placed player to receive three points and the third-place player to receive one point.

The Croatian took the pole position by securing 29.05 percent of the votes whereas Ronaldo had 19.08 and Salah with 11.23.


I Will Visit Pakistan Soon For Football Development Work: FIFA President

Here are the rest of the award winners from the ceremony:

  • Best Men’s Award: Luka Modric
  • Best Women’s Award: Marta
  • Puskas Award: Mohamed Salah
  • Best Goalkeeper: Thibaut Courtois
  • Best Men’s Coach: Didier Deschamps
  • Best Women’s Coach: Reynald Pedros
  • Fair Play: Lennart Thy
  • Fan Award: Peru fans

Breakdown of Votes For FIFA Footballer of the Year

Following the conclusion of the ceremony, FIFA revealed the breakdown of the votes, which packed some interesting surprises.

Despite not making into the final-three, Messi voted for Ronaldo and placed him in the third-position. The Argentinian put Kylian Mbappe in second place and placed Luka Modric in first position.

Ronaldo, however, did not vote for Messi at all. He placed his former Real Madrid teammate Raphael Varane at first position, Modric in second and Antoine Griezmann as third.

Spain and Real Madrid’s captain, Sergio Ramos, picked Modric, Ronaldo and Messi in that order.

Here are some of the top picks of the votes of some noticeable managers and players:

Gareth Southgate – England coach

Luka Modric (1st) Raphael Varane (2nd) Eden Hazard (3rd)

Alex Mcleish – Scotland coach

Mohamed Salah (1st) Eden Hazard (2nd) Luka Modric (3rd)

Ryan Giggs – Wales coach

Luka Modric (1st) Kylian Mbappe (2nd) Cristiano Ronaldo (3rd)

Martin O’Neill – Republic of Ireland coach

Lionel Messi (1st) Cristiano Ronaldo (2nd) Mohamed Salah (3rd)

Michael O’Neill – Northern Ireland coach

Mohamed Salah (1st) Luka Modric (2nd) Kevin De Bruyne (3rd)

Lionel Messi – Argentina captain

Luka Modric (1st) Kylian Mbappe (2nd) Cristiano Ronaldo (3rd)

Cristiano Ronaldo – Portugal captain

Raphael Varane (1st) Luka Modric (2nd) Antoine Griezmann (3rd)

Harry Kane – England captain

Cristiano Ronaldo (1st) Lionel Messi (2nd) Kevin De Bruyne (3rd)

Luka Modric – Croatia captain

Raphael Varane (1st) Cristiano Ronaldo (2nd) Antoine Griezmann

Hugo Loris – France captain

Raphael Varane (1st) Antoine Griezmann (2nd) Kylian Mbappe (3rd)

Manuel Neuer – Germany captain

Eden Hazard (1st) Luka Modric (2nd) Raphael Varane (3rd)

Virgil van Dijk – Netherlands captain

Mohamed Salah (1st) Kevin De Bruyne (2nd) Kylian Mbappe (3rd)

Sergio Ramos – Spain captain

Luka Modric (1st) Cristiano Ronaldo (2nd) Lionel Messi (3rd)

Click here to view all the votes on the FIFA website.

SEO Team Lead, Content Strategist, and an avid sports lover!

      • #1 Cristiano Ronaldo is a more complete player than Lionel Messi
        #2 International success
        #3 Ronaldo has proven himself in multiple leagues
        #4 Ronaldo is a more prolific goalscorer than Lionel Messi
        #5 Cristiano Ronaldo is less injury prone

  • close