Fakhar, Amir Return as Pakistan Names Squad for South Africa Tests

Fast bowler Mohammad Amir and opener Fakhar Zaman are back in the team as the National Cricket Selection Committee has announced a 16-man squad for the Test series against South Africa.

Young left-arm opener Imam ul Haq has been given another life despite failing to impress in all three matches against New Zealand in the ongoing series.

Another left-arm opener Shan Masood, who has shown signs of improvement in the domestic season and then against England A, along with the wicket-keeper batsman Mohammad Rizwan have made way into the team.


South Africa Announces Test Squad for Home Series Against Pakistan

All-rounder Faheem Ahsraf who was left out of the Test side following Pakistan’s tour to England and Shadab Khan, who recently recovered from a back injury, are also the part of sixteen.

Key paceman Mohammad Abbas, who was ruled out of the third match against New Zealand with a shoulder injury, has also recovered to be the part of the squad.

His presence will help Pakistan in the bowler-friendly conditions of Pretoria.

The 16-Man Squad:

Sarfraz Ahmed (c) Asad Shafiq Azhar Ali Fakhar Zaman
Imam-ul-Haq Shan Masood Babar Azam Haris Sohail
Faheem Ashraf Shadab Khan Mohammad Rizwan Yasir Shah
Mohammad Amir Mohammad Abbas Hassan Ali Shaheen Shah Afridi


On Thursday, South Africa announced their 13-man squad for the upcoming series which featured the young middle-order batsman Zubayr Hamza and fast bowler Duanne Olivier.

As per the announcement, Faf du Plessis would lead the team in the Test series.

South Africa Squad:

Faf du Plessis (captain) Hashim Amla Temba Bavuma
Theunis de Bruyn Quinton de Kock Dean Elgar
Zubayr Hamza Keshav Maharaj Aiden Markram
Duanne Olivier Vernon Philander Kagiso Rabada
Dale Steyn


The three-match Test series commences on the Boxing Day in Pretoria. The second Test is scheduled in Cape Town from 3-7 January, with the series finale in Johannesburg from 11-15 January.