These Are the Official Public Holidays You’ll Get in 2019

Saving everyone the trouble of planning their holidays, the federal government has officially announced a total of 14 public holidays for the year 2019.

In a notification released by the Interior Ministry, the government has announced public holidays for Kashmir Days, Pakistan Day, Labor Day, Eid ul Fitr, Eid ul Azha, Independence Day, Ashura, Eid Milad un Nabi (SAW), and Quaid-e-Azam Day.

In addition, there are three holidays for the banking sector, which include January 1, May 7, and July 1.

Notably, banks will be closed for the masses on these days but not for employees.

“The holidays for Muslim festivals are subject to appearance of [the] moon for which a separate notification will be issued,” reads the notification.

Moreover, the government has listed 23 optional holidays for government officials. These holidays include New Year Day, Basant Panchami, Shiv Ratri, Holi, Dulhani, Shab-eMairaj, Good Friday, Holi, Easter, Nauroze, and many others.

Government officers who want to avail the optional holidays are required to take prior permission from their concerned head office.

“Muslims can avail only one optional holiday while non-Muslims can take up to three,” says the notification.

  • Ltd feature videos

    Watch more at LTD