6 Pakistani Cricketers to Feature in Canada’s Global T20 League

Six Pakistani cricketers have been selected to play the Global T20 League Canada, which is scheduled to be played in Brampton from 25th July.

Former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi will represent Brampton Wolves along with left-arm pacer Wahab Riaz.

Spinners Shadab Khan and Mohammad Nawaz’s services have been secured by Edmonton Royals.

Vancouver Knights, which has retained the services of Chris Gayle and Andre Russell, have also agreed to include Shoaib Malik in their squad.

Middle-order batsman Umar Akmal will also get a chance to showcase his skills for Winnipeg Hawks.

To summarize, here are the inclusion of Pakistani players in this year’s Canada’s T20 League:

  • Shahid Afridi and Wahab Riaz — Brampton Wolves
  • Shadab Khan and Mohammad Nawaz — Edmonton Royals
  • Shoaib Malik — Vancouver Knights
  • Umar Akmal — Winnipeg Hawks

Toronto Nationals and Montreal Tigers are the other two franchises in the tournament.

The league will feature a number of stars including likes of Brendon McCullum (Toronto Nationals), Sunil Narine (Montreal Tigers), Chris Lynn, Dwayne Bravo (Winnipeg Hawks) and Faf du Plessis (Edmonton Royals).

Here is the list of Pakistani players which were included in last year’s Global T20 League Canada.

  • close