These Are the Top Performers from the Revamped Quaid-e-Azam Trophy

The overhauled domestic cricket tournament, the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy’s first winner is Central Punjab, which defeated Northern in the grand final at Karachi earlier today.

An impressive double-century by Umar Akmal for Central Punjab took them to 675/8 in response to Northern’s first innings total of 254.


Top 10 Achievements by Pakistani Athletes in 2019

It proved to be a bad toss to win for Norther as captain, Nauman Ali opted to bat first. Faizan Riaz’s fighting hundred and Rohail Nazir’s 80 made sure that they gave their bowlers a chance of bowling out the opposition. However, Central Punjab’s batting proved to be a little too much for Northern as Azhar Ali smacked a century whereas Salman Butt, the Akmal brothers, Zafar Gohar and captain, Babar Azam, all chipped in to get a massive lead of 421.

An innings defeat loomed large over Northern camp, however, a defiant hundred by teenager Haider Ali and contributions from another teenager, Rohail Nazir and Ali Sarfaraz delayed the loss to the final session on Day 4. Punjab’s Bilal Asif bagged 8 wickets to end with figures of 31.3-1-112-8 to win it for his team.

Central Punjab bowled out the opposition for 405, winning the final by an innings and 16 runs.


First-Class Cricket Returns to Quetta After 11 Years

Umar Akmal and Bilal Asif shared the man of the match award, whereas the man of the tournament belonged to Zafar Gohar who took 38 wickets and scored 458 runs.

Here are the top 10 bowlers and batsmen from the tournament:

Top 10 Batsmen

Imran Butt (Balochistan)917293421462.2643
Kamran Akmal (Central Punjab)1115090616660.4033
Salman Butt (Central Punjab)1015390123775.0833
Sami Aslam (Southern Punjab)10154864243*78.5441
Faizan Riaz (Northern)815385721171.4133
Imran Farhat (Balochistan)1017281913754.6033
Ashfaq Ahmed (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)1014280517367.0843
Fawad Alam (Sindh)1013278121171.0042
Zeeshan Malik (Northern)815078021652.0016
Umar Akmal (Central Punjab)812075421862.8324

Top 10 Bowlers

Nauman Ali (Northern (Pakistan)1016548/7111/23125.3846.051
Bilal Asif (Central Punjab)915438/11211/14923.1642.821
Zafar Gohar (Central Punjab)1119387/7911/13336.7668.511
Mohammad Asghar (Balochistan)812276/1216/12138.8163.420
Sajid Khan (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)611255/368/16224.9648.410
Tabish Khan (Sindh)1014255/857/22240.9271.010
Sohail Khan (Sindh)913224/624/6239.7769.200
Mohammad Irfan (Southern Punjab)812225/1315/13343.0481.520
Yasir Shah (Balochistan)58215/1047/23039.5267.410
Waqas Ahmed (Northern)813216/1097/14439.5770.010

What are your thoughts on Central Punjab’s title win? Let us know in the comments section.

Feature Writer

  • Just by looking at top performers on this tournament I would pick the following:
    Salman Butt,
    Sami Aslam,
    Faizan Riaz,
    Fawad Alam,
    Ashfaq Ahmed
    Adnan Akmal, (yes he was a great performer as batsman/keeper)
    Nauman Ali
    Bilal Asif
    Sajid Khan,
    Hammad Azam
    Tabish Khan

  • Sami Aslam should give chance in National team, his performance is great, Highest score with most not outs and avg. of 78 highest.

  • >