T20 World Cup 2022

T20 World Cup 2022

Top cricketing nations have set their sights on the coveted T20 World Cup 2022 trophy.

The eighth edition of the tournament is right around the corner. The 2022 T20 World Cup is being held in Australia for the first time in history. The previous edition of the competition was held in 2021 in UAE with India as the official hosts.

Australia won the trophy for the first time by defeating New Zealand in the final. The Kangaroos will try to defend their title in front of their home crowd.

A total of 16 teams will take part in the competition. The low-ranked eight teams will compete in the first round. Four out of these eight teams will advance to join the top-eight cricketing nations in the Super 12s stage.

T20 World Cup Format

According to the format, The T20 World Cup 2022 will consist of two main rounds. The first round will contain eight low-ranked teams, divided into two groups. The teams will look to finish in the top-four positions to qualify for the next round, Super 12s.

Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Namibia and UAE are in Group A and they will play their matches in Geelong, whereas Group B consists of West Indies, Ireland, Zimbabwe and Scotland with their matches being held at Hobart.

The top two teams from each group will move to the next round with the Winner of Group A and Runner-up of Group B moving into Group 1 of Super 12s, whereas the Winner of Group B and Runner-up of Group A will be join the rest of the teams in Group 2 of Super 12s.

The Super 12s stage will also contain two groups, with six teams in each group. Defending champions and hosts, Australia alongside New Zealand, England and Afghanistan are in Group 1.  Pakistan, India, South Africa and Bangladesh will compete in Group 2.

The six teams from both the groups will play against each other once in the round and the top two teams at the end of the round will move onto the semi-finals of the tournament. The first placed team in Group 1 will face the second-placed team in Group 2 and vice-versa in the semi-finals.

T20 World Cup Venues

For the first time in history, the T20 World Cup is taking place in Australia. The mega-event will be held at a total of seven venues. The first round matches will take place in Geelong and Hobart. The Super 12s matches will take place at Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide.

The first semi-final of T20 World Cup 2022 is scheduled at Sydney while the second semi-final will be held at Adelaide. The final of the tournament, scheduled on 13 November and will take place at the historic Melbourne Cricket Stadium.

T20 World Cup Schedule

Sri Lanka and Namibia will commence the proceedings with the first T20 World Cup 2022 match on 16 October at Geelong, Australia. Scotland and Zimbabwe will play the final match in the round one on 21 October.

The Super 12s stage of the tournament will start from 22 October as Australia takes on New Zealand at the SCG. The high-octane clash between arch-rivals Pakistan and India will set the tournament alight. The two teams will battle it out at the MCG on 23 October in front of a jam-packed crowd. The final match of the Super 12s will be between India and qualifier from the first-round on 6 November.

The semi-finals of the tournament will be held on 9 and 10 November, whereas the final of the mega-event will be held on 13 November in Melbourne.

T20 World Cup Squads and Teams

Australia, England, New Zealand and Afghanistan will compete in Group 1 of the Super 12s. Two qualifiers, first placed team from Group A and second placed team from Group B from the first round will qualify for Group 1 as well.

Arch-rivals, Pakistan and India are together in Group 2 of the Super 12s. South Africa, Bangladesh and two qualifiers, first placed team from Group B and second placed team from Group A from the first round, are the other four teams in the group.

All the 16 teams in the competition have announced their 15-man squads for the mega-event. The teams have also enlisted additional reserve players in the squad. The reserves will only come into the squad in case a player in the initial 15-man squad gets injured or ruled out of action for a legitimate reason.

T20 World Cup Previous Winners

Australia are the defending champions of the tournament as they lifted the trophy for the first-time in the previous edition. The Kangaroos defeated New Zealand by 8 wickets in the final at Dubai last year.

West Indies is the only team to win the tournament more than once. They lifted their first title in 2012 before repeating the feat in 2016. West Indies defeated Sri Lanka in the 2012 final and beat England in the final of the 2016 T20 World Cup.

Pakistan have won the tournament once as they defeated Sri Lanka in the 2009 final at Lords. The Men in Green roared back in the second edition of the tournament. They suffered a heart-breaking loss in the final of inaugural edition of the tournament in 2007 against arch-rivals India.

Sri Lanka and England are the other two winners of the T20 World Cup. England won the 2010 edition and Sri Lanka emerged victorious in the 2012 edition.

Check out the T20 World Cup points table, T20 World Cup live streaming and T20 World Cup stats here!

Get Alerts

ProPakistani Community

Join the groups below to get latest news and updates.