Facebook ‘On This Day’ Takes You Down Memory Lane

Facebook has launched a new nostalgia evoking feature called On This Day that allows you to look back at what you were up to years ago on a given date.

The feature is presented in the form of a news feed comprising of your past status updates, photos, as well as posts you were tagged in on that date. It works similar to an existing service known as Timehop, which lets you login via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Foursquare, Flickr, Dropbox, iPhoto in order to gather a collage of your activity across each social network from years in the past.

Unless you choose to share a particular post with friends, your On This Day feed will only be visible to you. Additionally, you will have the option to edit or delete any embarrassing or unwanted posts from the feed. You can also subscribe to receive notifications whenever there is something on the feed worth checking out.

Staring from today, the feature will officially begin rolling out for everyone worldwide over the next week

According to Facebook, sensitive information such as posts or photos involving past relationships that don’t exist anymore will be filtered out by the feed. The social giant has encountered similar issues in the past with its own Year In Review feature revealing painful memories of deceased loved ones for users.

It’s not unexpected, then, that the company is taking the necessary precautions to ensure that On This Day remains a pleasant experience for all of its users.

Facebook first started experimenting with On This Day on a limited scale back in 2013. Staring from today, however, the feature will officially begin rolling out for everyone worldwide over the next week. Once it is available, users will be able to tune in to their past memories through Facebook search, notifications on iOS and Android, the bookmark in the Facebook web sidebar,  or the direct link here.