HEC Approves Research Projects for Returning PhD Scholars

The Higher Education commission (HEC) Pakistan organized the second steering committee meeting for final review and approval of project proposals submitted under the project “Establishment of Technology Development Fund (TDF) for HEC scholars returning from abroad after completing PhD to introduce new technologies in Pakistan.”

Dr. Mukhtar Ahmed, Chairman HEC chaired the meeting. Dr. Arshad Ali, Executive Director HEC and Dr. Muhammad Latif, Adviser R&D were also present on the occasion. Project Steering committee comprised members from education sector of all provinces, AJK and industry to maintain transparency for final approval of project proposals.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr. Mukhtar Ahmed highlighted importance of the project, as this project will not only strengthen relationship between academia and industry, it will also help researchers to materialize their ideas into products/services to support country’s dream of knowledge economy. He said both academia and industry should come closer to explore new horizons for betterment of the country.

Dr. Gul Mohammad Laghari, Deputy Chief S&T Section, Ministry of Planning Development and Reforms said that this project is one of the priorities of the Government to achieve Pakistan’s Vision 2025. Dr. Niaz Ahmad Akhtar, Vice Chancellor, UET Taxila highlighted that number of project proposals received from KP, Balochistan and Sindh were very few hence there is need to encourage provinces to apply under next calls.

Dr. Arhsad Ali also highlighted the role of HEC for taking such initiatives to provide researchers an opportunity to execute their ideas with industrial partners for socio-economic growth of country. He appreciated the support received from Mr. Imtiaz Rastgar, Chairman, Rastgar Group in identification of industrial experts.

Dr. Muhammad Latif, Adviser R&D and Ms. Noshaba Awais, Director R&D appreciated the contribution of expert panel for proposals’ approval as well as committee’s suggestions to further improve this project so as to facilitate more innovative ideas from all areas of Pakistan.

The members of steering committee who attended the meeting included Dr. Niaz Ahmad Akhtar, Mr. Imtiaz Rastgar, Mrs. Anjum Afshan Naqvi, Director, Education Colleges AJK Muzaffarabad, Mr. Ata Muhammad Kakar, Deputy Secretary from Balochistan, Dr. Gul Mohammad Laghari, Mr. Khurram Zafar, Executive Director, Centre for Entrepreneurship, Lahore University of Management Sciences.