Mo Salah Becomes The Third Muslim Footballer To Win PFA Player of The Year Award

Mo Salah, the Egyptian King, has claimed the PFA Player of the Year Award ahead of Kevin De Bruyne and Tottenham’s Harry Kane. The forward from Nagrig came to England a year ago and conquered it in just a few months. Salah’s talent remained unquestioned during his days in Itlay that made Liverpool splash the cash and bring the Egyptian home.

Individually, Salah was miles ahead of almost any forward in the league. Many thought that Kevin De Bruyne would take the award home as he was the architect of Manchester City’s successful premier league campaign. However, Salah’s individual master class was too much to ignore as he became the first-ever Egyptian to clinch the award.

PFA Player of the Year

Here are the shortlisted players for the PFA Player of the Year award.

  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • David De Gea (Manchester United)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool) — Winner
  • Leroy Sané (Manchester City)
  • David Silva (Manchester City)

The list is dominated by City players as the Blue team from Manchester have already won the league with four matches to go.

The humbled Egyptian spoke at the ceremony saying;

It’s a big honour. I’ve worked hard and I’m very happy to win it.

Salah also became the third Muslim player to claim the award in three years after last year’s winner N’golo Kante and Riyad Mahrez – a year before that.

Leroy Sane, the German forward, won the PFA Young Player of the Year award as well beating the likes of Ederson Moraes, Raheem Sterling, and Marcus Rashford.


Here’s How Mo Salah is Changing Perception of Muslims Through Football

PFA Team of the Year

Following elites made it to the PFA team of the year. Sane surprisingly was left out of the team, here is how it stands;

  • David de Gea (Manchester United)
  • Kyle Walker (Manchester City)
  • Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Nicolás Otamendi (Manchester City)
  • Marcos Alonso (Chelsea)
  • David Silva (Manchester City)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Christian Eriksen (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
  • Sergio Agüero (Manchester City)

To no one’s surprise, Salah is right there in the front three and he would get picked any day of the week considering his sublime form. The Liverpool forward has shattered multiple goalscoring records in his debut season for The Reds. Salah has equalled the most number of goals in a single 38-game premier league campaign with 31 goals in the league so far.

He is leading the race for European Golden Boot as well, edging past Barcelona’s magician Lionel Messi. With three games to go, Salah has golden chances of grabbing the premier league and European golden boot awards in his first ever season for Liverpool.

Mo Salah will be Anfield’s new king if he decides to stay and continue his scintillating form.