Pak vs Ban: Pakistan Needs to Win to Break 23-Year Old Record at Rawalpindi

Another important Test series awaits Pakistan and Bangladesh as the two teams will take on each other at Rawalpindi on 7th February.

Pakistan have not won a Test match at Rawalpindi Stadium in 23 years whereas Bangladesh’s last Test in the country was a nail-biter in Multan in 2003 when the local boy, Inzamam-ul-Haq, made everyone in the opposition camp cry as he steered his team to a famous victory with just one wicket to spare.


Pakistan’s Test Squad Against Bangladesh Announced

Bangladesh is yet to defeat Pakistan in Test cricket, and their fans would be hoping for a different result this time around.

Match Details

Venue: Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium

Time: 10:00 am

Possible Playing XIs

Pakistan: Shan Masood, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali (C), Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Fawad Alam/Haris Sohail, Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Yasir Shah, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque (C), Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Liton Das (WK), Taijul Islam, Al-Amin Hossain, Abu Jayed, Ebadot Hossain


Pakistan is currently ranked at 7th with 85 points whereas Bangladesh is at 9th with 60 points.

Pos Team Weighted Matches Points Rating
1  India 42 5,046 120
2  Australia 40 4,320 108
3  England 50 5,253 105
4  New Zealand 33 3,449 105
5  South Africa 36 3,537 98
6  Sri Lanka 43 3,935 92
7  Pakistan 33 2,795 85
8  West Indies 33 2,675 81
9  Bangladesh 26 1,566 60

If Pakistan wins the series 2-0, Azhar Ali’s men will get 2 points to stay at 7th whereas Bangladesh will lose 2 rating points. On the other hand, a 1-1- draw will lose Pakistan 2 points with Bangladesh gaining 3 points.

A 2-0 series defeat will mean that Pakistan will slip down to 8th below the West Indies with 78 points. The Bengal Tigers will earn 8 points in this case.

Head to Head

Pakistan has won 9 out of 10 matches played between the two nations. One game ended in a draw in 2015.

The Test series will boost the confidence of other teams such as South Africa who are planning to tour Pakistan in March for a T20I series.

Which team do you think will win? Let us know in the comments section.