Pakistan Announces 16-Man Squad For First Test Against England

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has shortlisted 16 players out of the previously 20-man squad for the first Test against England. The first Test is scheduled to start from 5th August at Old Trafford in Manchester.

The shortlisted players are as follows:

Azhar Ali (C) Babar Azam (VC) Abid Ali Asad Shafiq
Fawad Alam Imam-ul-Haq Kashif Bhatti Mohammad Abbas
Mohammad Rizwan Naseem Shah Sarfaraz Ahmed Shadab Khan
Shaheen Afridi Shan Masood Sohail Khan Yasir Shah

The selection committee headed by Misbah-ul-Haq had earlier shortlisted 20 players for the Test series out of the 29-man squad. Faheem Ashraf, Imran Khan Snr., Usman Shinwari, and Wahab Riaz are the four players who have been excluded from the first Test’s squad.


Shoaib Akhtar Says Pakistan Has a Better Batting Coach Than Younis Khan

England had already named an unchanged 14-man squad for the Test series against Pakistan. Here’s how it stacks up:

Joe Root (C) James Anderson Jofra Archer Dominic Bess
Stuart Broad Rory Burns Jos Buttler Zak Crawley
Sam Curran Ollie Pope Dom Sibley Ben Stokes
Chris Woakes Mark Wood

Which team will win the first Test? Share your thoughts in the comments section.

Feature Writer