Imam-ul-Haq’s Wicket Sparks New Controversy in World of Cricket [Video]

Imam-ul-Haq’s controversial stumping in the second innings of the first Test match between Pakistan and Sri Lanka has stirred up a debate among cricket lovers.

Many fans on social media argued that he should not have been given out as the ball had already been dead while others argued that the Sri Lankan wicket-keeper was clever to cause the stumping and Imam should have stayed alert.

The incident occurred during the 29th over of the game as Sri Lankan wicket-keeper, Niroshan Dickwella, with the ball in his hands, waited for a few seconds and uprooted the stumps as soon as Imam shifted his weight to the front foot due to which his back foot lifted off the ground momentarily.

Watch the videos below:

While Imam’s loss of concentration did result in the loss of his wicket, the question arises whether the stumping was within the rules and regulations of the International Cricket Council.

According to ICC’s rule, the ball should be declared dead when it has finally settled in the hands of the wicket-keeper or the bowler. According to this rule, Imam should not have been given out as Dickwella takes total control of the ball in his right hand and then shuffles it onto his left hand before stumping him out after a few seconds.

But there is a contradiction within the rule book as well, according to which, Imam’s stumping was well within the rules. ICC’s rule 20.1.2 states that “the ball shall be considered be declared dead when it is clear to the bowler’s end umpire that the fielding side and both batsmen at the wicket have ceased to regard it as in play.”

What do you think? Should Imam have been given out? Write your answers in the comment section!

They call me the Sports Guy!

  • First of all.against the spirit of game he is not over balanced umpire should interrupt very bad umpiring.second fakhar zaman run out by quinten de cock to Azhar Ali run out thinking that ball crossed the boundary line .why this always happens with Pakistani players.shame on U.when U know they don’t have the ability to decieve U and they try others ways why you giving them chance.shame on you Q de cock and niroshan dikwella

  • This is not a sportsman spirit. It is total dishonesty and cheating in the game of cricket. Cricket is the game of gentleman. Imam palyed the ball and missed and stayed in his crease and later settling down or taking guard for next ball. Wrong decision by empire.

  • This is very controversial. In my honest opinion, Dickwella shouldn’t have done that.

  • Imam was clearly not out. He even played the shot on back foot, both of his feet were inside the crease. He went out to mark the line not to take a run or to play a shot. So bowl was long dead.

  • close