England Forced to Change Playing XI for First Test Against Pakistan

England’s management has made one change in the already announced playing XI for the first of the three Test matches which kicks off today, December 01, at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium.

According to the details, Ben Foakes, the wicket-keeper batter, has been excluded from the team as he suffered from a viral infection yesterday and has not fully recovered in time to play the first Test.

Meanwhile, the management has decided to include Will Jacks in the playing eleven for the curtain-raiser. Ollie Pope will keep the wickets in absence of Ben Foakes.

Yesterday, it was reported that the curtain-raiser may be postponed because half of the visiting squad was suffering from a viral infection, which also forced them to miss the last training session.

Later, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) stated in the statement that they were in contact with the English cricket board regarding the start of the series.

Meanwhile, Pakistan announced its playing XI before the game, with four new faces making their red-ball debut. Pakistan’s debutants include Zahid Mahmood, Mohammad Ali, Saud Shakeel, and Haris Rauf.

Pakistan England 
Abdullah Shafique Zak Crawley
Imam-ul-Haq Ben Duckett
Azhar Ali Ollie Pope (wk)
Babar Azam (c) Joe Root
Mohammad Rizwan (wk) Harry Brook
Agha Salman Will Jacks
Saud Shakeel Ben Stokes (c)
Haris Rauf Liam Livingstone
Naseem Shah Jack Leach
Zahid Mahmood Ollie Robinson
Mohammad Ali James Anderson