Here Are All the Records From PSL 2018 [Part 1]

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) has finally come to a close after Islamabad United lifted the PSL trophy for the second time in three years.

This year’s PSL saw a number of new local stars emerging and helping their respective teams to victory. Similarly, a number of records were also broken and new ones were made during this period.

Check PSL 2019 schedulePSL 2019 complete details.

Follow PSL 2019 Coverage

islambad united hd logo

Misbah-ul-Haq has become the most successful PSL captain of all-time (62.5% win-rate)

Following Misbah is Sarfraz (60.71%), Afridi (60%) and then Imad Wasim (57.14%).

misbah ul haq psl record

Muhammad Sami has equaled Muhammad Nawaz’s record of most MoM awards (4 times)

sami psl record

Kamran Akmal — Peshawar Zalmi’s X-Factor

  • Fastest 50 of PSL (off 17 balls)
    • Previous record: Luke Ronchi (17 balls)
  • Most sixes in PSL history (49 sixes)
    • Previous record: Shane Watson (43 sixes)
  • Becomes only player to score 2 centuries in PSL history.
  • Joint highest sixes in an innings against Karachi Kings (8 sixes)
    • Others include Kevin Pietersen, Umar Akmal & Sharjeel Khan
  • First wicketkeeper-batsman to score 4 hundreds in T20s
    • Previous record: Quinton de Kock & Adam Gilchrist (3 each)

akmal psl record

Junaid Khan became 14th Pakistani bowler with a hat-trick in T20s

junaid psl record

Shahid Afridi — National Hero

  • Bowled 4th maiden over in PSL career, most by any bowler in the tournament.
  • First Pakistani to take 300 wickets in T20 cricket, 4th overall.
  • Had best economy-rate (6.20) in death overs for Karachi Kings in PSL 2018.
  • For the first time took 3 wickets vs Lahore Qalandars

afridi psl record

Umar Akmal became only the third Pakistani to complete 5,000 runs in T20s

umar akmal psl record

Kamran Akmal, Babar Azam and Luke Ronchi are now the only players to have crossed 400-runs mark in a single season of PSL

During PSL 3, Shane Watson reached the 200 wickets milestone in T20s

Irfan Jr. bowled the most expensive over of PSL history vs. Peshawar Zalmi (28 runs)

The previous record was held by Shaun Tait and Irfan Jr. himself (26 runs each).

This was the first time ever Lahore Qalandars won 3 back to back matches in the PSL

Lahore Qalandars also became the first team to lose 7 consecutive matches in PSL history.

qalandars team

Quetta Gladiators now hold the biggest margin victory in PSL history

The victory was against Karachi Kings by a margin of 67 runs.

Quetta Gladiators’ chased the highest total without having any player scoring over 30 runs

Quetta chased 153-runs where Rilee Rossouw was their highest scorer with 27 runs.

Umar Gul managed best bowling figures in PSL 2018

Gul managed 6 for 24 for Multan Sultans. However, these figures are third best for a bowler whose side had lost after Aftab Ahmed’s 6 for 22 and Adam Zampa’s 6 for 19

umar gul psl record

Darren Sammy managed the second best strike-rate in 16 to 20 overs in PSL

Zalmi captain has a strike-rate of 196.61 in 16 to 20 overs. The highest belongs to Umar Akmal (219.48)

Anwar Ali has now conceded 30 sixes in PSL, the most by any bowler

Lahore Qalandars now have the 2nd worst winning percentage in a major T20 league

After Antigua Hawksbills (18.75%), Lahore have the worst winning percentage. Following them is Pune Warriors with 26.66% success rate.

Brendon McCullum’s batting average in the PSL is only 13.66, his lowest in any T20 league

Islamabad and Peshawar both have 19 wins in PSL history

zalmi vs united

SEO Team Lead, Content Strategist, and an avid sports lover!