Ronaldo Among Ballon d’Or 30-Man Nominee List Despite Rape Allegations

Despite serious rape allegations, the love for Ronaldo has not faded and the Portuguese has been shortlisted for one of football’s most prestigious awards known as Ballon d’Or.

Ronaldo has been named in the 30-man nominee list alongside his former teammate Luka Modric and Barcelona’s forward Lionel Messi.

The reigning champions, Real Madrid, have 8 of their players amongst the shortlisted players which is a huge honor. Modric was this year’s Golden Ball winner in World Cup 2018.

Manchester United and Real Madrid legend, who recently transferred to Juventus, has won the award for the past two consecutive years and five times in total. Messi too has as many Ballon d’Or trophies.

The Portuguese is in hot waters after being accused and sued for rape by a US woman. The footballer has, however, denied the allegation.

His leading sponsors NIKE and Electronic Art Inc have raised concerns about the allegations.

Players Shortlisted for the Award

  • Sergio Aguero (Argentina, Manchester City)
  • Raphael Varane (Real Madrid, France)
  • Alisson (Liverpool, Brazil)
  • Gareth Bale (Real Madrid, Wales)
  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, France)
  • Edinson Cavani (Paris Saint-Germain, Uruguay)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid, Belgium)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus, Portugal)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium)
  • Roberto Firmino (Liverpool, Brazil)
  • Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid, Uruguay)
  • Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid, France)
  • Eden Hazard (Chelsea, Belgium)
  • Isco (Real Madrid, Spain)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur, England)
  • N’Golo Kante (Chelsea, France)
  • Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur, France)
  • Mario Mandzukic (Juventus, Croatia)
  • Sadio Mane (Liverpool, Senegal)
  • Marcelo (Real Madrid, Brazil)
  • Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain, France)
  • Lionel Messi (Barcelona, Argentina)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)
  • Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain, Brazil)
  • Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid, Slovenia)
  • Paul Pogba (Manchester United, France)
  • Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona, Croatia)
  • Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid, Spain)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, Egypt)
  • Luis Suarez (Barcelona, Uruguay)

Via: Reuters

  • >