Mohammad Abbas Named in ICC Test Team of The Year

Pakistani fast-bowler Mohammad Abbas has been included in the International Cricket Council (ICC) test team of the year for 2018. Abbas is the only player from Pakistan to feature in the esteemed list.

As per a media release earlier today, Indian skipper Virat Kohli has been made the captain of the ICC test team for the year 2018 thanks to a brilliant year, not just with the bat, but as a captain as well. He has made a hat-trick of awards, securing the Men’s ICC Test Cricketer of the Year, Men’s ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year and Men’s ICC Cricketer of the Year awards. He will also lead the ICC ODI team of the year.

The team is as follows:

1. Tom Latham (New Zealand)
2. Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka)
3. Kane Williamson (New Zealand)
4. Virat Kohli (India) (capt)
5. Henry Nicholls (New Zealand)
6. Rishabh Pant (India) (wk)
7. Jason Holder (Windies)
8. Kagiso Rabada (South Africa)
9. Nathan Lyon (Australia)
10. Jasprit Bumrah (India)
11. Mohammad Abbas (Pakistan)

The team features 3 players from New Zealand, including Tom Latham, Kane Williamson and Henry Nicholls, 3 from India, including Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant and Jasprit Bumrah, and one each from Pakistan, Australia, Sri Lanka, West Indies and South Africa – Mohammad Abbas, Nathan Lyon, Dimuth Karunaratne, Jason Holder and Kagiso Rabada respectively.

Mohammad Abbas enjoyed supreme form against Australia in the two-match test series, taking 17 wickets at 10.58 with the best match figures of 10/95. The performance prompted the great South African fast bowler Dale Steyn to predict the new world number bowler in Abbas.

Feature Writer

  • >