Schedule & Groups Announced for the Upcoming T20 World Cup

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the full fixtures of the men’s T20 World Cup. The tournament is scheduled to take place in Australia in October-November 2020.

The number of teams has been reduced for the tournament and 12 cricketing nations will take part in the shortest format’s world cup. Pakistan will kick-start their WT20 campaign with a match against hosts Australia on October 24th.

Pakistan’s WT20 2020 Schedule

24 October 2020 – Australia v Pakistan, Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney (7.00pm)


29 October 2020 – Pakistan v A1, Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney (2.00pm)

31 October 2020 – Pakistan v New Zealand, Brisbane Cricket Ground, Brisbane (2.00pm)

3 November 2020 – Pakistan v Windies, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (2.00pm)

6 November 2020 – Pakistan v B2, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne (2.00pm)

The Qualifying Round

As per schedule, the first round – the qualifying round – will take place from Sunday 18 October to Friday 23 October.

All the matches of Group A, which includes Sri Lanka and three qualifiers, will be played in Kardinia Park, Geelong. Whereas, all the fixtures of Group B, including Bangladesh and three qualifiers, will take place in Bellerive Oval, Hobart.

Super 12 Round

Four out of six teams will qualify for the Super 12 round which starts on Saturday, 24 October.

Pakistan and India ended up at first and second place in the ICC T20 Rankings on 31 December 2018, and will, therefore, be in different Groups for the Super 12 stage. This means the cricketing world will not witness the two arch-rivals clashing in the early round of the tournament.

Group 1:

  • Pakistan
  • Australia
  • West Indies
  • New Zealand
  • First Round Group A team 1
  • First Round Group B team 2

Group 2:

  • India
  • England
  • South Africa
  • Afghanistan
  • First Round Group B team 1
  • First Round Group A team 2


At the end of the Super 12 round, top four teams – two from each group – will qualify for the semi-finals slated for November 11 and 12.

  • 11 November 2020 – Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney (7.00pm)
  • 12 November 2020 – Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (7.00pm)


The winners will meet in the mega final on November 15 at MCG.

  • >