Match 17: Fakhar Zaman Registers First Victory as Lahore Qalandars Captain

Lahore Qalandars beat Quetta Gladiators by 8wickets.
Man of the Match: Sandeep Lamichhane (LQ)

Second Innings – Lahore Qalandars

Chasing a low target, Lahore Qalandars’ victory was never in doubt. Lahore chased down the 107 target in 16.3 overs.

First Innings – Quetta Gladiators

Following a good run of games, Quetta failed to impress in the reverse fixture against Lahore. Sandeep Lamichhane’s brilliant bowling restricted the Gladiators to a low target.

Sandeep picked up 4 wickets in his 4 overs, giving away only 10 runs. Haris Rauf also picked up 2 wickets with Yasir Shah and injured Afridi picking up one-wicket each.

For Gladiators, only Ahsan Ali and Sarfraz Ahmed managed scores over 20 runs with 33 and 29 respectively.

In 19.1 overs, Quetta could only manage 106 runs, losing all their wickets.

Toss and Team News Update

Both teams have made a number of changes for match 17. Shaheen Shah Afridi is back in the team whereas Salman Butt is dropped for Haris Sohail.

The Qalandars have also made the decision to give Fakhar Zaman the captaincy as AB de Villiers is not completely fit and is unlikely to play the entire PSL season.

For Quetta, the young pace merchant Mohammad Hasnain is making his first appearance alongside Danish Aziz and Englishman MF Gurney.

The toss was won by Lahore Qalandars and Fakhar Zaman opted to field first.

Quetta Gladiators Playing XI:
Shane Watson, Rilee Rossouw, Ahsan Ali, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed (C), Mohammad Nawaz, Danish Aziz, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Hasnain, HF Gurney, Fawad Ahmed

Lahore Qalandars Playing XI:
Fakhar Zaman (C), Haris Sohail, AB de Villiers, Sohail Akhtar, Corey Anderson, Gauhar Ali, David Wiese, Sandeep Lamichhane, Yasir Shah, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf


It’s a double-header today at Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

In the first match, Lahore Qalandars face Quetta Gladiators in a bid to boost their chances of playoff qualification. Sarfaraz XI would be hoping to consolidate their position at the top of the table.

Here’s everything you need to know about today’s first match.

Match Details

Date Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Time 04:30 PM PST
Umpires Ranmore Martinesz (SL)
Shozab Raza (PAK)
Match Referee Mohammad Anees (PAK)
TV Umpire Asif Yaqoob (PAK)
Stadium Dubai International Cricket Stadium


Quetta Gladiators and Lahore Qalandars have faced each other 7 times in PSL history. Sarfaraz’s team has enjoyed an upper hand with 5 wins.

Possible XI

Lahore Qalandars:
Fakhar Zaman, Sohail Akhtar, AB de Villiers (C), Haris Sohail, Corey Anderson, Umair Masood (WK), David Wiese, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sandeep Lamichhane, Rahat Ali

Quetta Gladiators:
Shane Watson, Ahsan Ali, Rilee Rossouw, Umar Akmal, Sarfaraz Ahmed (C, WK), Dwayne Bravo, Mohammad Nawaz, Anwar Ali, Sohail Tanvir, Fawad Ahmed, Mohammad Hasnain

Players to Lookout For

Lahore Qalandars:
Sohail Akhtar hasn’t performed that well in this PSL. His century in the Emirates T20 League is reflective of his abilities at the top of the order and it would be interesting to see his case grow stronger for the national selection.

Quetta Gladiators:
The veteran all-rounder, Shane Watson has accumulated 186 runs at an average of 46.50 in this year’s PSL. He continues to be the best batsman for Quetta and his contribution would be handy if Quetta is to win.

For more information, check out our PSL coverage.

The PSL 2020 is almost here! Want to know everything about it? Visit the pages below (Live stream will be available when the matches begin).
PSL Live Streaming PSL Points Table | 2020 PSL Teams PSL 2020 Schedule PSL 2020 Highlights PSL 2020 Statistics