PSL 2024 PSL Schedule PSL Points Table PSL Live Streaming Latest News Cricket Football Hockey Combat Sports E-Sports Other Sports

Babar Azam One Century Away From Equalling Virat Kohli’s T20 Record

Babar Azam scores run at will. He’s easy on the eyes and fits in all formats of the game.

Babar, who turns 25 on Tuesday, smashed yet another T20 century this year, entering into the list of elite cricketers, including Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle.

Playing for Central Punjab, Babar hammered 102* against Sindh in the National T20 Cup on Sunday. It’s his third century of the year and the record for the most number of T20 centuries belongs jointly to Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle, who have hit 4 centuries in a year.

Babar’s all three tons have come this year from 35 innings. His centuries breakdown is as follows:

  • Pakistan vs. Leicestershire — 101
  • Somerset vs. Hampshire — 101*
  • Central Punjab vs. Sindh — 102*

Here are all the players who have scored the most number of centuries in T20 in a calendar year:

Player Year Innings Centuries
Virat Kohli 2016 29 4
Chris Gayle 2015 31
Michael Clinger 2011 22 3
Chris Gayle 2013 33
David Warner 2011 33
Babar Azam 2019 35
Chris Gayle 2015 36
Chris Gayle 2012 38
Aaron Finch 2018 38

Do you think Babar Azam can break Virat Kohli’s record of 4 centuries? Let us know in the comments section.

Head of Sports and LENS at

  • Breaking the record requires 2 centuries. Equalling it requires 1. One should admire Michael Clinger, all he required was 22 innings.

  • Within 2-3 years of playing for Pakistan, Babar Azam established himself as one of the most important members of the squad and is seen as a potential Pakistan skipper in future.

  • Get Alerts

    Follow ProPakistani to get latest news and updates.

    ProPakistani Community

    Join the groups below to get latest news and updates.