Australia Announces Squad for Test Series Against Pakistan

Australia has included Cameron Bancroft and Joe Burns in their Test squad to face Pakistan while Usman Khawaja and Marcus Harris have been both left out due to their failures in the Ashes.

Bowling all-rounder Michael Neser was also included as a back-up to the formidable pace attack of Josh Hazelwood, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc and James Pattinson.

Bancroft was only rushed into the Australia A team at the last minute this week when Nic Maddinson pulled out to deal with mental health issues.

He is one of three specialist openers, along with Burns and Warner, but is more likely to play down the order if selected for the two Tests starting in Brisbane next week, followed by a day-night clash in Adelaide.

Here is the complete squad:

  1. Tim Paine (C)
  2. Cameron Bancroft
  3. Joe Burns
  4. Pat Cummins
  5. Josh Hazlewood
  6. Travis Head
  7. Marnus Labuschagne
  8. Nathan Lyon
  9. Michael Neser
  10. James Pattinson
  11. Steve Smith
  12. Mitchell Starc
  13. Matthew Wade
  14. David Warner

Sports Analyst & Head of Sports Desk.