Match 8: Shane Watson Shines Again as Quetta Gladiators Continue Their Unbeaten Streak

Quetta Gladiators (161 for 2) beat Multan Sultans (160 for 9) by 8 wickets.
Man of the Match: Shane Watson (QG) – 61 (40)

Quetta Gladiators won the toss and opted to chase first in a bid to register their third consecutive victory in the PSL 2019.

Sarfraz Ahmed’s team has registered yet another victory in Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2019 and continued their unbeaten winning streak in the competition.

Gladiators sit nicely at the top of the table with 6 points whereas all other teams have 2 points each, however, other franchises still have games in hand.

Second Innings — Quetta Gladiators:

It was expected that Multan’s strong bowling lineup would be able to defend the target of 160. However, Shane Watson stood tall and delivered a supreme performance following a slow start.

The highest overseas run-scorer, Watson, scored a firey 61 from 40 deliveries which included 11 boundaries. RR Rossouw came to the rescue after Ahsan Ali departed for just 9 runs.

Russouw also impressed in the Quetta innings as he stepped up and scored 62 runs.

First Innings — Multan Sultans:

After the heroics from the captain himself, Multan Sultans have posted a respectable total on the board for Quetta Gladiators to chase.

Malik scored 57 from 37 deliveries which helped the target reach a grand total of 160 for 9 in 20 overs.

Multan opened the innings with Shan Masood and James Vince which gave a stable foundation to the innings. The openers scored 18 and 28 runs respectively.

Mohammad Irfan Jnr. and Ghulam Mudassar both picked up 2 wickets whereas Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Nawaz, and Fawad Ahmed picked up one wicket each.


After a two-day heavy break, the festivity of the fourth edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) has moved to Sharjah. The new Multan Sultans are ready to face Quetta Gladiators in the eighth match of the PSL 2019 at Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Match Details

Date Thursday, February 20, 2019
Time 09:00 PM PST
Umpires Ranmore Martinesz (SL)
Michael Gough (ENG)
Tariq Rasheed (PAK)
Match Referee Mohammad Anees (PAK)
TV Umpire Asif Yaqoob (PAK)


As Multan was a late induction to the league, the two teams have only faced each other twice in the competition – and share a win each. Last time the two sides locked horns in Dubai, Quetta went on to win a thriller on the second last ball of the game – courtesy Hassan Khan’s heroics.

Playing XI

Multan Sultans:
Shan Masood, James Vince, Lauri Evans, Shoaib Malik, Dan Christian, Shahid Afridi, Andre Russell, Shakeel Ansar, Nauman Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Ali Shafiq

Quetta Gladiators:
Ahsan Ali, Shane Watson, Rilee Rossouw, DR Smith, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Sohail Tanvir, Fawad Ahmed, Ghulam Mudassar, Muhammad Irfan Jnr.

Players to Lookout For

Multan Sultans:
Lucky for the new-look Multan that their young and old guns have been blazing all cylinders. From Shahid Afridi to Shoaib Malik to Andre Russell, all of them have been in top form.

Quetta Gladiators:
Gladiators have shown their ‘Gladiator skill’ in all three seasons of the league – and they rely heavily on home-grown talent. Today, Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal’s return, and Sohail Tanveer’s bowling magic will come under scrutiny along with skipper Sarfraz Ahmed’s captaincy.

For more information, check out our PSL coverage.