Bayern Stars Win Big as Messi Vs. Ronaldo Rivarly Set to Return in Champions League

The annual UEFA awards for the best player in each position and best player overall have been announced. German champions, Bayern Munich, defeated the French champions, Paris Saint-Germain, 1-0 in the final of the tournament on August 23rd. to clinch the coveted trophy.


Roma Fan Miraculously Wakes Up from Coma After Message from Francesco Totti

Bayern Munich star, Robert Lewandowski, scooped the award for UEFA Men’s Player of the Year. Lewandowski scored in every game of the competition barring the final, scoring a total of 15 goals and 6 assists in a title-winning campaign. Lewandowski was in red-hot form throughout the season, scoring 34 goals in 31 Bundesliga matches.

UEFA also presented awards for the best players in each position. They are as follows:

  • Best Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)
  • Best Defender: Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich)
  • Best Midfielder: Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Best Forward: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

During the ceremony, the draws for the 2020-2021 season were also announced. The biggest surprise of the event came when Lionel Messi’s Barcelona and Cristiano Ronaldo’s Juventus were placed in the same group.


Lionel Messi Overtakes Cristiano Ronaldo as Richest Footballer

The two superstars have been on top of their game for well over a decade now, offering the fans some great match ups over the years. Now at the twilight of their careers, Messi taking on Ronaldo in the most prestigious club football competition in the world will be the highlight of the tournament.

Here are the draws:

Group A Group B
Bayern Munich Real Madrid
Atletico Madrid Shakhtar Donetsk
FC Salzburg Inter Milan
Lokomotiv Moscow Borrusia Monchengladbach
Group C Group D
FC Porto Liverpool
Manchester City AFC Ajax
Olympiacos Atalanta
Olympique de Marseille FC Midtjylland
Group E Group F
Sevilla Zenit St. Petersburg
Chelsea Dortmund
Krasnodar Lazio
Stade Rennais Club Brugge
Group G Group H
Juventus Paris Saint-Germain
Barcelona Manchester United
Dynamo Kiev RB Leipzig
Ferencvarosi Istanbul Basaksehir

What are your thoughts on the awards and Champions League draws? Let us know in the comments section.