Khushdil Shah Broke the Record for Fastest T20 Century by a Pakistani

Middle-order batsman, Khushdil Shah, smashed the fastest hundred by a Pakistani batsman in Southern Punjab’s victory over Sindh in the National T20 Cup on Friday. The left-hander’s hundred came off 35 balls and his innings included 9 sixes and 8 boundaries.

Khushdil walked into bat when Southern Punjab were faltering at 43-4 while chasing a target of 217. The hard-hitting batsman led Southern Punjab to their first victory in this year’s National T20 Cup, winning the man of the match award for his performance.

The fastest T20 century record was previously held by Ahmed Shehzad, who scored a 40-ball century in 2012 in the Bangladesh Premier League.


Shoaib Malik Just Became the First Asian to Cross 10,000 Runs in T20s

Fastest T20 Centuries by Pakistanis

Sr. No. Batsman Balls Match
1 Khushdil Shah 35 Southern Punjab vs Sindh  (2020)
2 Ahmed Shehzad 40 Barisal Burners v Duronto Rajshahi (2012)
3 Shahid Afridi 42 Hampshire vs Derbyshire (2017)
4 Bilal Asif 43 Abbottabad Falcons vs Sialkot Stallions (2015)

Khushdil also became the joint fifth fastest centurion in the world, equaling Rohit Sharma, David Miller, Martin Guptill, and van der Westhuizen for the fifth spot.

The fastest T20 centuries in the world are listed below:

Sr. No. Batsman Balls Match
1 Chris Gayle 30 Royal Challengers Bangalore v Pune Warriors (2013)
2 R Pant 32 Delhi vs Himachal Pradesh (2018)
3 WJ Lubbe 33 North West vs Limpopo (2018)
4 Andrew Symonds 34 Kent vs Middlesex (2004)
5 Khushdil Shah 35 Southern Punjab vs Sindh  (2020)
5 Rohit Sharma 35 India vs Sri Lanka (2017)
5 Martin Guptill 35 Worcestershire vs Northamptonshire (2018)
5 David Miller 35 South Africa vs Bangladesh (2017)
5 LP van der Westhuizen 35 Namibia vs Kenya (2011)

What are your thoughts on the achievement? Let us know in the comments section.

  • close