PSL 2024 PSL Schedule PSL Points Table PSL Live Streaming Latest News Cricket Football Hockey Combat Sports E-Sports Other Sports

PSL 9 Match 7 Preview: Under Pressure Lahore Qalandars Take On High-Flying Multan Sultans

Lahore Qalandars face a tough task against the in-form Multan Sultans. Both teams have developed a healthy rivalry in recent years and featured in the finals of the last two seasons.

Apart from Karachi Kings, Lahore has a new rival in the quest to achieve the PSL title but they will need to turn their fortunes quickly if they want to have any chances to qualify for the playoff spots.

The Qalandars have lost two back-to-back matches against Islamabad United and Quetta Gladiators and their bowling unit is under a lot of criticism especially the Pakistani premium pacers Haris Rauf and Shaheen Afridi.

Multan on the other hand looks like a balanced side with the likes of Rizwan, Dawid Malan, and Reeza Hendricks in their top order, Khushdil and Iftikhar in the middle order, and in-form fast bowlers like Muhammad Ali and Abbas Afridi showcase that they are a complete side and will compete for the title once again.

Usama Mir’s pick from Karachi Kings is turning out to be a massive move by the Sultans’ think tank and Lahore will need to be vary of him in the middle overs on a difficult surface.

Pitch Report:

Multan stadium pitch will be helpful for the bowlers, last night’s match was a testament that the pitch will be slower and two-paced and the batters will find it extremely difficult to middle the ball, especially in the middle overs as the ball will stick into the pitch, the fast bowlers will have to pitch the ball up to extract the best out of the conditions. Chasing on this wicket will be the right call after winning the toss.

You can check out the full PSL schedule here

Head-to-Head Record:

Team Matches Wins Losses
Multan Sultans        17 8 9
Lahore Qalandars 9 8

Expected Playing XIs

Check out the PSL 9 squads here

Multan Sultans:

M.Rizwan (c)(wk) Reeza Hendricks Khushdil Shah Olly Stone Abbas Afridi Muhammad Ali
Dawid Malan Yasir Khan  Iftikhar Ahmed David Willey Usama Mir


Lahore Qalandars:

Fakhar Zaman Rassie Van Der Dussen  Jahandad Khan Carlos Braithwaite Haris Rauf Zaman Khan
Sahibzada Farhan (wk) Abdullah Shafique Sikandar Raza Shaheen Afridi (c) George Linde


Check out the PSL 9 Points Table here

Get Alerts

Follow ProPakistani to get latest news and updates.

ProPakistani Community

Join the groups below to get latest news and updates.