Pakistan Announces Its Squad for T20 World Cup

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the 15-man squad for the 2021 T20 World Cup. The same squad will participate in the upcoming T20I series against New Zealand and England. As expected, Babar Azam will lead the Men in Green in the mega event, with all-rounder, Shadab Khan acting as his deputy.

The 15-man squad includes the expected names such as Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Hafeez, Shaheen Afridi, and Hasan Ali, alongside a few surprise picks including Azam Khan, Asif Ali, Khushdil Shah, and Mohammad Wasim Jnr.

Surprisingly, Pakistan left out specialist leg-spinner Usman Qadir and experienced all-rounder Faheem Ashraf from the T20 World Cup squad. Mohammad Nawaz and Mohammad Wasim Jnr were preferred ahead of the two.

Pakistan will start their campaign in a high-octane encounter against arch-rivals India on 24th October. They will then go onto play New Zealand, Afghanistan and two qualifiers from round one.

Here is Pakistan’s squad for the 2021 T20 World Cup:

Babar Azam (c) Shadab Khan (vc) Mohammad Rizwan (wk) Mohammad Hafeez Imad Wasim
Shaheen Afridi Hasan Ali Asif Ali Khushdil Shah Mohammad Nawaz
Haris Rauf Mohammad Hasnain Mohammad Wasim Jnr Sohaib Maqsood Azam Khan
Usman Qadir* Shahnawaz Dahani* Fakhar Zaman*


The 18 members of the squad including the reserve players for the T20 World Cup will also take part in Pakistan’s historic home series against New Zealand and England. Pakistan’s five-match T20I series against the Kiwis is scheduled to commence from 25 September and the two T20Is against England will be played on 13 and 14 October.

Check out all the 2021 T20 World Cup Teams

They call me the Sports Guy!

  • close